Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_fenrir
Author:Henrik Oresten (Giftmacher)
Title:Tomb of Fenrir
Download:ad_fenrir.zip (2f423280b325fcf51f805f6373fd3c6f)
Filesize:2582 Kilobytes
Release date:08.01.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_50final

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_fenrir.bsp3815 KB08.01.2017
ad_fenrir.lit1128 KB08.01.2017
ad_fenrir.map3105 KB08.01.2017
ad_fenrir.wad900 KB08.01.2017
ad_fenrir_readme.txt3 KB08.01.2017

ad_fenrir.zip - Tomb of Fenrir

Medium to large medieval-style dungeon in a subterranean lava cave. The map source and the texture wad are included.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions and an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, large, medieval, dungeon, lava, cavern, ad, limits, source, arcanedimensions

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 11 January 2017, 8:07

A very good new AD map, and first Quake release from Giftmacher. Here's hoping to see more from him. Quite linear but has nice pacing, cool secrets and great atmosphere. Note that this map wrongfully assigns a non-existing track0, so pick your favorite track, copy/paste it to your Quake music folder and rename it to track0 for even greater atmosphere.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 20 January 2017, 7:52

Decently long, with a very moody feel to it that teeters on the verge of being "too damn dark" at times.

It does play like a string of encounters linked together one after the other, although towards the end it does try and double back and re-use some of its areas. The combat can get quite difficult at times; having an ogre firing down a curved staircase at the player is always a good trick, and that particular encounter stuck out the most to me (Probably because it killed me once!).

Definitely a very good first release.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 25 January 2017, 7:30

Imo this is the best "third party" AD map so far. It doesn't have any jaw-dropping set pieces but the brushwork and texture usage are good throughout, and I didn't find it too dark. It's mostly pretty linear but the pacing is good and, mostly importantly, the combat is fun even if the less vanilla monsters don't show up till near the end.

4.5/5, and I'm rounding to a 5 because I'm feeling generous. Great first map!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2017, 18:02

An outstanding debut -- a really solidly competent map with very little to complain about, and some enjoyable secrets along the way. Beautiful to look at, and with a suitably climactic ending. I finished with all 73 kills (on Hard) and five of the seven secrets.

I've awarded four stars, losing one for two reasons. First, it has some invisible barriers, which I always find distasteful -- especially in cases like then when you try to jump onto a small ledge, find that it's invisibly walled off, and fall down into lava to your death! And second, it doesn't quite feel like a real place: the progression is a bit too linear and prescribed, so that it feels more like an obstacle course than somewhere that might exist on its own terms.

Still, a really superb debut, and promises great things in the future!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2017, 18:02

An outstanding debut -- a really solidly competent map with very little to complain about, and some enjoyable secrets along the way. Beautiful to look at, and with a suitably climactic ending. I finished with all 73 kills (on Hard) and five of the seven secrets.

I've awarded four stars, losing one for two reasons. First, it has some invisible barriers, which I always find distasteful -- especially in cases like then when you try to jump onto a small ledge, find that it's invisibly walled off, and fall down into lava to your death! And second, it doesn't quite feel like a real place: the progression is a bit too linear and prescribed, so that it feels more like an obstacle course than somewhere that might exist on its own terms.

Still, a really superb debut, and promises great things in the future!

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 3 30 January 2017, 22:12

Not a debut: http://celephais.net/board/view_thread.php?id=61381&start=348

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 31 January 2017, 0:31

I can't make much sense of that thread -- it seems that Giftmacher co-authored a map with Sock, but it wasn't complete in time for this pack. Is that right? Are you saying that Fenrir is not a debut because the as-yet-unfinished map was started before it? Let's hope it turns up eventually!

TERMiNAL Registered 16 February 2017, 4:05

Great map, good length and the visual was great.

mickmaus Registered, rated this a 5 23 March 2017, 0:13

Absolutely lovely visuals. Super clear, never confusing but each space felt unique and alive.

[[SPOILERS]] Loved the jump to the wall torch, a classic trick but it was hidden so well. The room-as-elevator trap is also excellent.

AnthonyS Guest 21 May 2017, 20:13

Great visual, map was average length. Overall well done.

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 28 June 2017, 3:20

Excellent indeed.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in