Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of afhell
Author:DeSoto
Title:The Ascent from Hell
Download:afhell.zip (932f10a504f503b61408ca36e73e250b)
Filesize:1247 Kilobytes
Release date:28.01.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's Playlist
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
AFHELL.BSP2811 KB27.01.1997
AFHELL.TXT5 KB28.01.1997

afhell.zip - The Ascent from Hell

Medium sized, confusing mashup of texture themes with some paintings by H.R. Giger, Boris Vallejo and Olivia.

Tags: medium, blue, gallery, wizard, traps, outdoor, textures, dm

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered 10 January 2014, 16:07

Looks a little rough in places, but I enjoyed this for its originality, bizarreness and unpredictability. In some respects similar to (though not as good as) wca (https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/wca.html). Geniac (http://www.geniac.net/quake.htm) describes it as “stupidly difficult”, but I disagree: as long as you play somewhat strategically, it is not unfairly hard.

Played fine in DarkPlaces (latest stable release), but in Quakespasm I hit an invisible barrier when rising out of the coffin at the start.

jackieben Registered, rated this a 4 10 January 2014, 21:29

Despite it's simple design, it has great ideas and atmosphere Combat is neutral

Thanks for the rec Icantthinkofanickname

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 10 January 2014, 21:32

At your service. :-)

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 16 November 2014, 19:16

Skill 3. 0 secrets found. 38/50 enemies freed from their lives.

OKish map with lots of ideas inside, relieance of thinking before acting, and some insta-death not unfair traps. Difficulty varies from easier to around ID maps. Ammo/health is low but enough, also the map provides several opportunities for easy monster infighting for a wider breather for ammo.

Oh, and you can go back to hell. Good uck for reaching it.

JMP Registered, rated this a 2 31 March 2017, 2:44

The paintings in the first part of the map are really cool, but the gameplay is terrible.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 3 27 February 2018, 1:41

Liked the paintings.

At the start, got stuck in the elevator, making it go down again. Made me laugh because the sound of lights turning on and everything were all the and I missed it.

The combat wasn't pleasing. But I liked the new ideas. The only thing I complain is that with new textures, you never know if its a secret or just a detail.

Need a little more polish

MikeTaylor Registered 1 March 2018, 0:00

Like everyone else, I enjoyed the paintings.

Once I got through the silver-key door I went through a teleporter ... and it took me back to the start. Nothing seemed to have changed, so I gave up. Does anyone know what I was supposed to do next?

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 4 July 2018, 0:52

This map has a lot of original ideas and great atmosphere. Especially the dark first room was quite creepy, reminding me of the beginning of Blood. Great use of lighting!

As mentioned by others, combat relies more on thinking and monster infighting, which I don't mind. I thought it was still fun and provided another type of challenge from traditional combat. I did die to one instadeath trap, but it didn't feel too unfair, as stated by Cocerello.

The secrets seem tougher than usual, as I didn't find any. The readme states that rocket jumping is required to find secrets in the map, and with that in mind I'm pretty sure where to look for them. If only I had found the rocket launcher in the first place, though. :D

Also, playing the game with coop mode enabled, as suggested in the readme, adds a cool twist to the map that I haven't experienced elsewhere.

SPOILERS (for MikeTaylor):

After entering the silver key door, don't go into the teleporter but take the wind tunnel at the ceiling.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in