Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alkaline
Author:Bal, Bloodshot, bmFbr, Greenwood, grome, Juzley, khreathor, Makkon, Mista Heita, Scampie, Shamblernaut, zigi
Title:Alkaline
Download:alkaline.zip (08ef9e0ce76bd5e38ad789bb73c1cfc6)
Filesize:179018 Kilobytes
Release date:13.06.2021
Homepage:http://quake.great-site.net/
Additional Links: Quaddicted threadFunc_MsgboardTrailerDevkit
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
alkaline/alkaline_read_me.txt7 KB12.06.2021
alkaline/docs/skybox_nebula.txt1 KB11.06.2021
alkaline/pak0.pak360390 KB12.06.2021
alkaline/progs.dat803 KB11.06.2021

alkaline.zip

Alkaline

Nine large, open industrial/base levels and a starting hub map. The underlying mod features a large number new and modified enemies, weapons and additional content like models, sounds, skyboxes and music tracks for each map. It is also meant to serve as a general toolbox for base-themed levels.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: large, episode, base, industrial, space, rubicon, makkon, crane, lava, realism, textures, sounds, monsters, models, weapons, skybox, start, music, limits, bsp2, ikbase, void, quake2, doom3

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 58 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ninja Registered 19 June 2021, 13:51

I think theres a bug in them, on 5 of the maps, it wont let you pick up gold & silver keys ,they are there, but wont let you pick them up,the other maps it will let you pick them up. ? ? ?

Chaser Registered, rated this a 5 19 June 2021, 13:52

Perfect package of sci-fi maps. Some better than other but overall quality is tops

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 19 June 2021, 14:18

Wonderful pack. I'm not usually a fan of base maps except for a few gems (37th Relic Retrieval, Crucial Error, ...), but I have a feeling we can expect a lot of interesting releases based on this mod. I think I've missed out on a small number of super secrets, it'll be a pleasure to dive back in to try again. Oh, and don't let the start map scare you: Hell mode is actually Nightmare.

Ninja: you seem to be having trouble with keys in quite a few maps that everyone else is running fine. A bug report on the client you are using might be in order (or more information at the very least if you want some help).

Ninja Registered 19 June 2021, 14:59

Using quake spasm spiked, the only way i could fix the key problem,was to delete the quake.rc file,after doing that everything is fine.

human[rus] Registered 19 June 2021, 18:32

perfect work. revolution on mapping quake

Greenwood Registered 20 June 2021, 4:23

NOTE: Bloodshot is also a mapper in this pack.

@Ninja: Your issue with Quakespasm Spiked is odd, considering quite a few involved in the project use that source port exclusively and streamers didn't have similar problems. Regardless, we will look into this for the upcoming update!

Gila Registered, rated this a 5 20 June 2021, 11:44

Congratulations and thanks to all involved - another excellent release with superb quality content. Despite having a common "base" theme, the pack has quite the variety - both visually and gameplay wise.

The standouts for me personally were (in no particular order) Breakdown, Foundation for Corruption, Dancing in the Golden Sun, Beneath a Silicon Eclipse, Dire Pipes, Tellus Terminus. Played on Normal skill level.

Not sure why Foundation for Corruption entrance portal gives brutal difficulty warning, because the most times I died was playing Geothermal Outpost!

Plasma Gun felt somewhat weak and slow, while Laser Cannon was just great. The new enemiy roster is somewhat of a mish-mash, but describing all that in detail would be too long, boring, and somewhat spoilery.

colossusHQ Registered, rated this a 5 20 June 2021, 19:23

One of the best paks ive played yet 5/5

NikoBellic Guest 22 June 2021, 14:51

Nicely done maps pack, congrats to the mappers. I really enjoyed this one.

Thanks a lot

Bluehawk Guest 25 June 2021, 9:07

Do the lieutenants (red enforcers with super nailguns) have invincibility frames? It seems they're extra tanky when they're shooting at you but less so when they aren't.

Greenwood Registered 25 June 2021, 12:19

@Bluehawk

I just looked at the code again. Nope, there are no invincibility frames. If that happened to you, then it was merely coincidental. He is one tanky bastard though!

We will release the source code for the mod, along with the development kit, FGD, & documentation very soon. :)

Ninja Registered 25 June 2021, 19:01

Bluehawk

(red enforcers with super nailguns) do exist, if im near them or medium away from them, they go absolute nuts with the nail guns,if further away, they can see you, but a lot lot less nails at you

Smee Guest 27 June 2021, 6:50

5/5 for me.

Some of the maps drag on a bit, and some are a tad slaughter-mappy for my taste. The new assets are great, though, especially the soundtrack, which is phenomenal (!!). Overall, I loved what I saw. A great celebration of Quake's 25th birthday.

DragonsForLunch Registered, rated this a 5 28 June 2021, 20:52

Awesome pack of maps for a new mod! I really appreciate how some many of the maps have cinematic setpieces to them. The boatride in the beginning on Breakdown. All maps were fun to play. My favourites were Breakdown and Geothermal plant! I have a major gripe with the Prowler though. He doesn't telegraph his attack and it doesn't seem like he's able to miss. I'd consider making him more like The Gladiator from Q2 so his shots are dodgeable. Keep it up!

Greenwood Registered 1 July 2021, 2:05

@DragonsForLunch

Glad to hear that you're digging the mod & maps! :)

The Prowler actually does have a telegraphed attack: when he produces sparks, jumps up, & rears back, then you know he's about to lay into a rail shot (so seek cover ASAP).

DragonsForLunch Registered, rated this a 5 1 July 2021, 10:44

@Greenwood

Perhaps I played it with a low sound volume so that made it less noticeable but I'd consider making the telegraphing stronger so it's easier to see for the player

Hazza Guest 2 July 2021, 11:05

LOVED IT! Some of the maps are crazy high in quality- Silicon Eclipse, Dancing in the Golden Sun, Tellus Terminus and Foundation of Corruption especially.

I agree with the sentiment- plasmagun was pretty weak compared to lasercannon, the railgun-toting enemy can be trial-and-error and a bit of luck that you can take cover. Only big complaint was that shield enforcer- TBH- once you figure him out he's the easiest enemy in the game (he rarely shoots, so just run up to him and blast away the second he drops the shield).

Minor bugs (using Quakespasm)- the ladders didn't lower in some maps, which I presume they were supposed to.

Cracko Guest 3 July 2021, 3:45

Fantastic collection of maps, awesome work all around.

Icaro Registered, rated this a 5 4 July 2021, 22:57

Superb !!

Escalate_krsk Registered 6 July 2021, 20:16

Plays wonderful, looks great! The cast of enemies is the true highlight for me! Too bad the only new bosses were taken from Malice and S. o. A. (mission pack #1). Well, the Reactor could be considered a boss and its basically Icon of Sin all over again)) Wished there would be some true new final boss.

Cracko Guest 7 July 2021, 23:00

Little addendum and elaboration since I found time to finally complete all the maps.

Even the weakest maps from a technical standpoint were fun as hell, and the technically slicker maps were instant replays. This is the first collaboration where I had no urge to skip a map or simply get any map over with, I savored each one. I found it genuinely challenging with exciting combat, too. I was mowed down a few times and had to rethink and plan out the way I'll enter a room, or negotiate a corridor, or which monster requires my attention first, etc. Plenty of variety for a themed pack, too. It had the chance of becoming repetitive but never did. I really REALLY hope there's more Alkaline down the road.

Congrats and thank you to everyone involved in its creation, you crafted a masterpiece with Alkaline.

Greenwood Registered 11 July 2021, 22:10

@Cracko

Wow! Well, you are quite welcome. The crew is pleased to hear that you are enjoying it.

I assure you that we are updating/refining the mod and intend on expanding the map pack. Currently, we are running an Alkaline Jam, so more maps will be coming out soon! :)

Cracko Guest 13 July 2021, 21:07

@ Greenwood

Awesome, I look forward to seeing more. You guys rock.

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 17 July 2021, 12:12

I don't like sci-fe Quake2 style and nevertheless I played Alkaline from the start to the very end. It means gameplay taste lost to gameplay! :) My fav map was that lava Geotermal map with a helicopter in the end. Foundation of Corruption was sure stunning visually, that city vista was great & immersive actually, but the map itself WAY TOO hard. No problem with that, I've done most of it as god THANK YOU guys/girls (are there any girls mappers at all?)

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 17 July 2021, 12:13

*Silly I can't edit comments. I wanted to edit "It means taste lost to gameplay!"

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 17 July 2021, 12:19

Oh. And personal THANKS to mr.Greenwood for your YT channel. You showed a lot of maps which I would not ever find without yr aiming. Lots of them are hidden in Jams (I don't like jams as I don't like radio, too helter-skelter thingy) and you're playing some of them individually and that's how I notice them at all. THANKS for that

Borax Man Registered, rated this a 5 17 July 2021, 14:37

Excellent Map pack, a feast for the eyes. It's quite incredible to see that game engine I first played on a 100MHz AMD machine, what it can do now.

Every level was enjoyable, though difficulty varied a bit between levels. Thanks guys!

bhlaab Registered, rated this a 2 20 July 2021, 6:40

The maps are well constructed and gorgeous, but I found them no fun to play at all. This was almost 100% down to the custom monsters. In my experience custom monsters are almost always a bad idea unless you're Arcane Dimensions, and this pack didn't do much to change my mind. I'm also not a fan of being locked in a room while waves of enemies spawn in. I play Quake mods to avoid 'modern' stuff like that!

qazzaq Registered, rated this a 5 20 July 2021, 9:47

@bhlaab You tooo oldscool man :)

NailIn Guest 27 July 2021, 14:20

Well designed and nice atmosphere (dancing under the golden sun map), but too many enemies appear at once and very little pickups to deal with, no one is going to spend hours repeating just to finish them.

Jehannum Registered 3 August 2021, 0:14

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this map pack and I'm grateful to the team for putting the time and effort into making it a truly excellent experience! The level of quality in these maps is truly amazing. Thanks to all who contributed!

whatisquake Registered, rated this a 5 18 September 2021, 19:46

I really liked the new monsters, you have to fight them in new ways.

safety_man Registered 28 September 2021, 8:15

I'm relatively new to Quake, only having played it for the first time since the Remaster release about a month ago. After completing all of the official expanisions, this is the first mod that I've played through completely and WOW! A huge THANK YOU to everyone who worked on this. I was consistently impressed by the level of quality that each map maintained, resulting in a comprehensive and diverse series of maps that was fun to explore from start to finish.

The custom enemies added a nice variety, and were all relatively discernible from each other (I particularly liked the laser trashcan bot). The soundtrack and ambient noises were excellent (especially with headphones) and really helped set the tone for each map. Most impressive, though, was the map design. So many different takes on progression and encounters, and some of the finale designs were incredibly unique and memorable. I'll definitely be coming back at some point for a replay. This is more than deserving of an official release.

Excited to dive into the Alkaline Jam maps now.

FellowDoomer Guest 2 October 2021, 14:41

Outstanding, love it. Congratulations to the developpers ! A must play.

JMP Registered, rated this a 5 15 October 2021, 12:13

This is radically different from traditional Quake, but nonetheless I loved it. My favorites here are Tellus Terminus and Geothermal Outpost, but really every map is excellent except for Slipgate Sickness, which is cruder than the others in looks and gameplay and has some abrupt transitions. I wasn't surprised to read that it was stitched together from several old maps. But even "Sickness" isn't bad, just a 4* map surrounded by 5* maps.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in