Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of altus2
Author:Travis Pease
Title:Altus Mors
Download:altus2.zip (33ace3af1753a810369fbc7db811131e)
Filesize:195 Kilobytes
Release date:04.12.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's Playlist
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ALTUS2.BSP438 KB04.12.1996
ALTUS2.TXT4 KB04.12.1996

altus2.zip - Altus Mors

Small, poorly constructed mixed texture map.

Tags: small, mixtex, vertical

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 1.7/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 22 April 2014, 18:23

Pretty much exactly what the editor's description says. Not great, but perfectly playable. There are three rather well-hidden secrets that are nonetheless not impossible to find, and at least one of them provides a very useful item that makes a real difference to how the map plays out. The very steep upwards route can be a little finicky and frustrating, but overall the map provides a few minutes of decent --if not exactly memorable-- fun.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 14 May 2014, 1:46

I found out it's Latin for Noble Death... or maybe Tapioca Pudding, I don't know. Watch me play it here: Altus Mors on The Quake Grave

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 14 May 2014, 13:34

Hey ArrrCee, since you seem to share my affinity for lower-rated maps, I'm curious to read your take on Nozza's Palace. I seem to be the only person who does not think it is terrible.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 14 May 2014, 21:27

I really do like playing these old or lower rated maps and trying to figure out what people were going for with their ideas. And some times just finding a crazy map where you're playing and wondering, "HUH!?" is just great. I'll give Nozza's Palace a look soon. =)

Dymitry Guest 10 January 2016, 13:07

Given the design of the level, the title is probably meant to be taken literally: "high death".

For some reason, I would have assumed this was a weak 2000s speedmap rather than a 1996 level.

Two of the secrets are easy to find, one is of the "shoot a random spot in the middle of a large drab wall" kind.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 6 January 2018, 20:40

Maybe it's the fact that I haven't played vertical maps for a while that made this map kind of a refreshing experience. The gameplay's quite good, in my opinion.

Item balance is alright, but due to the verticality, which obstructed my vision (and my reckless playing), I kept wasting healthkits by accidentally picking them up. The map's lava lamps, which were kinda cool, also damaged me, which was uncalled for. T_T

The secrets were pretty nice and useful, but as Dymitry mentioned, the third secret was lame.

I'd kinda like to rate this thing 3/5, but because of the above mentioned secret and poor brush and texture work I guess I'll go with 2/5.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in