Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of anaconda
Author:Magicman
Title:Anaconda
Download:anaconda.zip (165d33b1dcb9d77c9c8d8d92c8b145dd)
Filesize:762 Kilobytes
Release date:02.04.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
anaconda.txt1 KB02.04.1997
pak0.pak1743 KB02.04.1997

anaconda.zip - Anaconda

A short map where most action happens underwater. Comes with a new dual-uzi snake monster and a big boss snake.

Tags: small, water, monster, snake, monsters, boss, wizard, underground, cave

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
gb 25 February 2009, 6:10
This was a promo level by Sony for the Anaconda movie.

O_o

Thats what the web says. Apparently it is called Temple of the Mist, and the boss snake is the Anaconda.

The level author is Magicman, as you would know if you'd read the end message.

I suggest raising the rating of this level to "nice" because it does a couple things that aren't done often in Quake. Check out the amount of water and the use of wood textures in this level, all of this really gives it a continuous theme that you don't see often. The selling points are the monsters, including the boss monster, of course.

It would fit right in with id episode 1. It's not excellent, though.

gb
gb 25 February 2009, 6:12
Umm, you played the right level, yes? You're supposed to start a new game, because idiotically the map is called start.bsp. The other level here is "anac" (Snakepit) which seems to be a boss test level.
gb 25 February 2009, 7:07
nevermind, you played the right level.

Still, it deserves better.
gb 25 February 2009, 7:19
and finally, the title may be a ripoff the Tomb Raider addon, "Temple of the Cat" (which was a lot better).
Spirit, rated this a 2 25 February 2009, 11:35
Please post links next time:
http://www.bluesnews.com/archives/march97-5.html
http://www.bluesnews.com/archives/april97-1.html
http://www.bluesnews.com/guide/tcs.htm (talks about a DM map though)
http://www.planetcrap.com/topics/52/23/

But for the rating, I don't know. The boss is cool but the map is bollocks. It's small, uninspired and pretty ugly. And those uzi-equipped snake things are a bad joke. So I personally don't think it qualifies as "above average".
Gib, rated this a 3 10 April 2010, 21:04
It was quite fun but also short. Those snake mobs we pretty annoying and seemed too accurate with the nail guns. The end boss was pretty cool.
Gib, rated this a 3 10 April 2010, 21:05
It was quite fun but also short. Those snake mobs we pretty annoying and seemed too accurate with the nail guns. The end boss was pretty cool.
goddogx 18 January 2011, 6:58
was magicman really bubbah/tan sian yue, as i seem to recall the snakes were based on his snakeman monster mod, though i'm too lazy to research it :)
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 11 April 2013, 19:57

The map is average+, as it gives a different gameplay and theme, but the boss is very good for a quake1 boss, i would love to see the smaller versions of it fighting alongside the boss.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 10 January 2014, 16:11

Basically what Spirit said. No offence to the authors, but I would say this is at best barely average.

JoeSchmoe Guest 28 February 2017, 2:15

Played this when it first came out, and while it was nice to have a boss fight, this mod wasn't very good, even for the time.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 7 January 2019, 2:06

I liked this map.

The dual uzi monster (I thought I saw them in another mod) was very interesting. For those people that are saying they are pinpointing accuracy. Well, they wield nail type guns, with moving projectiles, and everytime you fight them it's underwater, giving you freedom to move in the Yaxis. This was a positive point for me.

The secrets were a little bit lame and all of them were the same, highlighted shootable doors.

The boss battle is very cool indeed. Although strafe is the only thing you need to do. And the presentation was very cool, at least for me, i was caught by surprise.

  1. 4 out 5 for sure.
brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 7 January 2019, 2:06

I liked this map.

The dual uzi monster (I thought I saw them in another mod) was very interesting. For those people that are saying they are pinpointing accuracy. Well, they wield nail type guns, with moving projectiles, and everytime you fight them it's underwater, giving you freedom to move in the Yaxis. This was a positive point for me.

The secrets were a little bit lame and all of them were the same, highlighted shootable doors.

The boss battle is very cool indeed. Although strafe is the only thing you need to do. And the presentation was very cool, at least for me, i was caught by surprise.

  1. 4 out 5 for sure.
Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 20 January 2019, 16:08

If it weren't for the cool boss monster, this would be quite an unremarkable map: blocky and drab architecture, plentiful nail pickups and worst of all, easy and overpowered secrets that provide you with the means to kill the boss before it even attempts attacking. Do yourself a favour and skip the last secret so you could enjoy the cool boss a little bit.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in