Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of anoxia
Author:Paul Cook
Title:ANOXIA
Download:anoxia.zip (4ac74c8882bbaae943bb75949de6098e)
Filesize:174 Kilobytes
Release date:31.08.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ANOXIA.BSP378 KB31.08.1996
ANOXIA.TXT2 KB31.08.1996

anoxia.zip - ANOXIA

A room with brushes in it.

Tags: small, mixtex, crap, no exit, classic

Editor's Rating: Crap
User Rating: 1.5/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Fr3n Guest, rated this a 1 17 September 2012, 1:08
when my wife asked how bad a map could possibly get, I showed her this
.::SD::. Guest 29 October 2012, 22:37
Yep, me and my girlfriend can say this is one crappy map.
.::SD::. Guest 29 October 2012, 22:38
*my girlfriend and I, derp
Icantthinkofanickname Registered 1 December 2013, 16:37

Tried this out of morbid curiosity. The other comments made me think this map was going to kill the neighbours' cat and then take a dump on my carpet. But it didn't even cause anything on my computer to crash. It's ugly and pointless, but it loaded fine, the enemies are all killable with the weapons and ammo provided, and you can move around without getting stuck – except in the map itself, since there seems to be no exit trigger.

Plus: it has water lifts. The only other map I have played so far that uses water in this way is digs06, which came out in 2011. This is from 1996. Could this be the first map to implement water lifts? Does anyone here know?

Not sure how to rate this, though. It's really not good, but it's almost fully functional and shows hints of creativity. One … kidney?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 2 December 2013, 13:29

All right, but come on. This is terrible, by any measurement.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 1 16 August 2014, 2:35

We've all heard of misaligned textures. This is a misaligned map. It's like the remains of a Quake map that some Shambler got angry at and bashed up. There are only ten enemies and it's easy to kill them all. Just avoid this one, it's completely pointless and ugly.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 1 6 January 2015, 9:15

Two of the worst, most poorly constructed rooms I've ever seen in Quake. More than anything, I'm confused. Is it supposed to be a DM map? It's horrible as either and there is no exit. This is just awful.

Also, in response to Icantthinkofanickname, it's not the first map to use water lifts, that was Shaft of the Soulless.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 1 22 August 2015, 21:00

Anoxia on The Quake Grave

I can't really add much to what everyone has said above. It's pretty bad. I do like the skateboard ramps in the first room though! ;)

I think milkman has it right when he asks if this is supposed to be a DM map. I can't honestly see how this was supposed to be a single player map.

Ajora Registered, rated this a 1 25 September 2016, 8:31

Based on the user ratings, I downloaded this expecting it to be the worst Quake map ever created. I wasn't disappointed. The absolute bottom of the barrel for Quake levels.

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 1 28 September 2016, 23:36
  • Didn't waste too much time installing, thanks to Quake Injector
  • Map didn't take too much time to play
  • Second room has some interesting combat
  • Interesting, if not too fancy brush work
  • Water elevator was interesting
  • was an interesting challenge figuring out how to reach some of the items in the second room

  • texture alignment is bad

  • no exit/end trigger
  • idiosyncratic brushwork
  • no sense of progression or objective
  • no real theme
  • first of two rooms is too easy
  • second of two rooms is also quite easy
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 29 September 2016, 8:29

This is a pure unadulterated masterpiece of map design?

Why can't you fools recognize ART when you see it?

Frikkin SJWs....

GreatOmega Registered, rated this a 1 18 August 2017, 0:58

I almost feel like the author was trying to use brushwork in a way to emulate non-Euclidean geometry. While it doesn't actually do that, my brain still felt like it was melting trying to make sense of the horrid design present in this level.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 7 January 2018, 23:35

Where is exit to next level?

Esrael Registered, rated this a 1 8 January 2018, 11:24

As one can read from the previous reviews, no-one has been able to solve the mystery of its (most likely non-existant) location.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 8 January 2018, 16:53

I wonder, how many unresolved mysteries this map contains in.

Spirit Registered 8 January 2018, 20:22

There is no exit in this level.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in