Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ant
Author:John "metlslime" Fitzgibbons
Title:Antediluvian
Download:ant.zip (e4658729fe957a19509b2ef79f4ceb22)
Filesize:1608 Kilobytes
Release date:02.09.2005
Homepage:http://www.celephais.net
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceRetroquakeTronyn's Top 10: RunicUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
antNormal9m32sSpirit152013-08-01

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ant.txt2 KB02.09.2005
ant.bsp3975 KB02.09.2005

ant.zip - Antediluvian

Medium sized Metal level inspired by "The Wind Tunnels" (e3m5), already started in 2001 but only finished four years later. A map with a strong old-school flair.

Tags: metal, classic, wind tunnels, e3m5, qtwid, mustplay

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 30 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
than 20 February 2012, 15:31
So good. Metslime is a mapping stud. I played it around the same time as Vondur's equally wonderful ac.bsp and forgot which was which for some reason (colour scheme?), but they are both quite different, but brilliant maps.
Drew, rated this a 5 8 August 2012, 20:33
This is among my favourite maps for Quake. Old school flavour with modern day professional quality. If you don't like this map, you don't like Quake.
5/5
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 11 September 2012, 22:11
An excellent example of all that quake can give to a map, without modding. The architecture and layout are creative and interesting, and even though the textures and theme its all the same, it doesn't get boring at all, each new room has many things to see and admire. The secrets are fun to find too. The gameplay is good and amount of ammo/armor/health is ok. The thing less interesting in this map is maybe the lack of some sort of variety in how the monsters appears, but even though are all just waiting for you, it doesn't feel artificial and adds to the gameplay. A must to to play.
Cyt Registered, rated this a 5 31 May 2013, 0:28

A good quality map. It's very labyrinth-like throughout, but serves quite well to "The Wind Tunnels." The combat was pretty intense as well; I was running low on ammo through the half of the map, but was still a pretty good experience.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 23 June 2015, 10:09

A huge improvement over ID's The Wind Tunnels, which it greatly resembles. I often get this mixed up with Vondur's Adamantine Cruelty, another map that takes place in a sewer complex. This one is not quite at that level -- over-reliance on the wind-tunnel mechanism makes gameplay more disjointed, and it's not as architecturally ambitious as Cruelty. But it's still well worth playing on its own merits in 2015, and scores four stars from me.

Pietroskij Registered 9 October 2016, 23:19

I'm playing this map and i'm finding it very good but....I'm blocked near the start I can't find the way when you go down in the water from the room on the left to the initial one :( any suggestions??

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 10 October 2016, 4:32

@Pietroskij Watch the walkthrough demo?

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 10 October 2016, 13:56

Yay, more wind tunnels! I can't get enough of these gameplay variations that are used only once in the original game, like wind tunnels or low G. I enjoyed this one very much, the only downside being a couple secrets I couldn't figure out how to access without cheating: the red armor and [SPOILER] the megahealth hidden behind a mural lamp on a small platform near the end.[END SPOILER]

Pietroskij Registered 10 October 2016, 20:15

@bfg666 I can't find any walkthrough

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 10 October 2016, 20:24

Pietroskij, look to the left side of this page...

Pietroskij Registered 10 October 2016, 21:22

@bfg666 ooops, thank you :)

qtwid Guest 1 June 2018, 10:44

What is qtwid?

not logged in right now Guest 1 June 2018, 10:52

qtwid = "Quake the way id did". It basically means that a map is similar to the original id maps in terms of visuals and gameplay. It's roughly synonymous with "old-school" or maybe "retro".

AFAIK it's derived from "Doom the way id did" or dtwid, which is an episode made by members of the Doom mapping community that aims to emulate the original Doom maps.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in