Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of araivo
Author:Jago
Title:Apinaraivo / Monkey Rage
Download:araivo.zip (1bebc9596ff66a18c34c2eb88e6f0fc3)
Filesize:2574 Kilobytes
Release date:05.01.2005
Homepage:
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
araivo/araivo.txt2 KB05.01.2005
araivo/pak0.pak5940 KB05.01.2005

araivo.zip - Apinaraivo / Monkey Rage

Large and exessively detailed IKbase level using some SOA entities and the Mega-Enforcer.

Tags: base, large, ikbase, soa, armagon, boss

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
notsogavin 18 February 2012, 14:03
Large, frantic based map! Excellent work.
Fr3n Registered, rated this a 4 9 December 2012, 18:10
I won't give it away but if you enter the final room just right you'll figure out why the original SoA had Armagon start inside a wall. ;)
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 27 December 2012, 21:40
The excessively detailed comment is surpringsily needed, this map focus on brushwork. The layout is nice too. Gameplay is good, but some rooms would be better with a different choice of monsters, but it's too minor. Amount of ammo/health/armor is a bit over but OK.

The end, well ..., ... i need a good strategy in the open for Armagon, i always need at least 10 tries for this sucker.
marco.nadal.75 Registered 22 September 2013, 14:03

Monkey Rage indeed... this mouse scraping simian couldn't find the button to raise the 3 sets of bars IN THE FIRST MAP. >_<

Playing with Quake HD Pack (DP)

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 14 December 2013, 17:18

I did not manage to kill the boss on hard mode without cheating me a quad. It is ridiculously overpowered. :(

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 26 February 2014, 1:44

the intricate detail of this map is quite impressive. the gameplay was ok. Armagon's rockets are what get me killed. easily.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 30 July 2014, 18:17

Actually "excessive brushwork" is about right . It's impressive, and nice to look at, but in the end distracting -- I was constantly looking for secrets in rooms where everything looked like a secret but nearly everything was actually just scenery. The map is well put together, and I feel a bit bad giving it only 3*, but put together the easy-to-get-caught-on scenery, the somewhat repetitive gameplay and the ludicrously overpowered boss,and I can't honestly say it merits more.

Jonan Guest 8 August 2014, 11:46

Kept on getting snagged on brush work. Which was nice. I'd like to see the whole map stretched out width wise.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 25 September 2016, 11:22

I absolutely adore the brushwork in this map. It's a level of detail that I aspire to when building, and I understand how time-consuming it can be to make. Unfortunately, the rest of this map suffers for this.

I came into this level feeling excited; I love base, I love detail and I love a good challenge. But by the end I felt underwhelmed and disappointed. Perhaps that's because I telefragged armagon by accident, I dunno. Perhaps it's because the custom enforcer is one of the most annoying enemies to fight in Quake (I'd be fine if the "shield" accurately represented the frames they were vulnerable for, but it has a strong tendency to stop your shots even when you can't see it!). Perhaps it's because for all the time and effort that went in to building a map to this level of detail, gameplay, flow and duration fell by the wayside.

I took a healthy amount of time to beat this map. In part that's because it makes you traverse a large amount of itself to unlock the path forwards, and in part because I was wondering aimlessly, half-lost in the labyrinth of metal that blends too easily into itself. I never felt a strong sense of direction in this map, and at times would struggle to identify where I was in relation to areas I had previously visited, even if I could see them.

I almost feel like the map would be more fun without the visual distraction, but then I would miss that part of its quality.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 25 September 2016, 16:33

On replaying this map, I enjoyed it more. But the ending is still dumb. You just can't beat Armagon without some form of special behaviour. In my case, I tried several time entering the arena, until I got it just right and he landed on top of me. Then I just fired the lightning gun straight up his cloaca until he exploded.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in