Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of arcanum
Author:Tronyn, PulSaR, PM
Title:Arcanum
Download:arcanum.zip (5751e9bb2cb07b3560c344ea026f3dfe)
Filesize:18975 Kilobytes
Release date:06.05.2011
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:something_wicked

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
arcanumreadme.txt4 KB04.05.2011
gfx/env/floodland_bk.tga101 KB30.06.2002
gfx/env/floodland_dn.tga159 KB30.10.2002
gfx/env/floodland_ft.tga394 KB29.06.2002
gfx/env/floodland_lf.tga130 KB29.06.2002
gfx/env/floodland_rt.tga104 KB30.06.2002
gfx/env/floodland_up.tga178 KB30.10.2002
maps/arcanum1.bsp6150 KB07.05.2011
maps/arcanum2.bsp6488 KB07.05.2011
maps/arcanum3.bsp7326 KB07.05.2011
maps/arcanum4.bsp9079 KB07.05.2011
maps/arcanum5.bsp7468 KB07.05.2011
maps/arcstart.bsp1911 KB22.01.2010
maps/arcstart.lit452 KB22.01.2010
sound/music/earth.wav776 KB31.10.2009
sound/music/warp.wav1369 KB30.11.2008
sound/music/warpb.wav2460 KB29.04.2011
sound/music/warpc.wav1743 KB30.11.2008
arcanum_v11.txt1 KB08.05.2011

arcanum.zip - Arcanum

Single player episode with five huge maps by Tronyn and Pulsar. Epic in style and scale. Tough battles with high numbers of enemies. Many modified and new monsters, weapons and items. Very hard. Includes a start map by distrans.

Note: These maps require Drake and an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: large, episode, medieval, ikblue, epic, hard, monsters, weapons, drake, knave

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Denizrn T. 26 July 2011, 23:03
Very NICE!
jfh Guest 1 July 2013, 10:25

Excellent!

marco.nadal.75 Registered 22 September 2013, 12:01

How do I get the gold key under the pentagram in the first map?

Running in Quake HD Pack\drake\maps\arcanum, "run anyway" with Quake Injector. This means DP client.

Tronyn Guest 24 September 2013, 5:02

Once you get into that room, you go up a ladder, up some stairs, and press a button; this makes a bunch of monsters appear; when you've killed all the monsters (iirc there's a vore or maybe zombies on the pentagram) the pentagram opens and you can drop down and get the key.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 16 December 2013, 11:41

I feel very conflicted about this. Obviously the scope, scale and technical execution are all extraordinary, and I have read Kinn's gushing praise for this episode, which makes me feel like I really should have loved it too.

But there was one thing that bothered me a lot (because it formed such an integral part of the experience), namely (in my opinion) an over-reliance on the button-finding gameplay mechanic. By the third map it started feeling like all I was doing was moving from button to button to button, and with every door I opened, I was almost immediately told to find another two, three or four buttons. This really broke immersion for me.

Was it just me, or did anyone else have a similar experience with this episode?

MikeTaylor Registered 23 January 2014, 18:19

Seriously? I have to axe a horde of zombies in pitch darkness before I'm even allowed into the castle? Where does that get fun?

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 23 January 2014, 19:01

You mean the zombies at the very beginning? I thought those were fun. Tricky and difficult (to me at least), but novel in the way it forces the player to deal with zombies in a way s/he never would otherwise (or at least I wouldn't). I really enjoyed the first map overall (as I recall; it's been a while) -- it was only later on that I felt it had become very repetitive, despite all the technical impressiveness.

Tronyn Guest 23 January 2014, 20:10

I released the first map by itself as the Arcanum demo, and people liked it. Then when I released the final project, suddenly everyone was complaining about the first map. This was confusing. Anyway, it will be changed in the future to something more conventional.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 23 January 2014, 20:45

Tronyn: That is weird. I have not played the demo on its own, but to me the first map was the highlight of the pack (but then I do seem to be the odd one out. I seem to be the only one who disliked the dominance of button-searching in the later maps).

Maybe those who later complained about the first map just liked the other maps much more when the full episode was released?

Tronyn Guest 23 January 2014, 22:53

I see what you mean, PulSar's map and my Dis Aliter Visum I/II are all very gloomy and mazelike; overlapping routes are probably easier in outdoor maps where you can actually see how the route overlaps, rather than finding "what, I'm in this room again?" in a series of pretty but similarly-designed dark rooms.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 23 January 2014, 23:24

Maybe that is part of the issue, but what I meant was rather that in order proceed through these maps, you basically need to solve very similar puzzles over and over: you never get very far before you reach a locked door and have to go searching for x number of buttons.

That is of course fine as a gameplay device, as it slows things down and makes level progression about more than just running and shooting, but because it was the same mechanic over and over, it felt very artificial to me after a while -- it was too obvious that I was in a game level, as opposed to a real (albeit otherworldly) place, if that makes sense.

Plus, it got frustrating because I started getting the feeling that I could not really move very far and explore or get lost in the map I was in, because pretty soon I would hit the next locked door, and receive the same instructions.

I am speaking from memory here and would need to replay this episode, but: I seem to remember that this was most pronounced in Dei Iudicium, which I really felt was the kind of setting the player should be able to move through more freely (barring resistance from monsters, of course. Loved the spiders here, by the way).

Sorry for being so wordy and I hope this makes at least some sense. As I said, I am obviously the odd one out, so you probably should not be listening to me, but those are my two (constructive, not negative) cents.

PuLSaR Registered, rated this a 5 5 November 2015, 17:21

Why can't I find this with 'pulsar' filter?

Lo Frag Traff Guest 3 December 2018, 7:35

quake injector wouldn't install it.

it lets you play the game without the drake mod, so what would happen if i continued without using the drake mod?

i read the read me file, but i didn't understand it.

i tried to manually add the drake mod to the fresh installation done by the quake injector, but not sure if the folder is correctly titled, or if i have placed it incorrectly.

i would prefer to use the quake injector, as this is supposed to make this easier, as i hate messing about with mods/maps manually, easpecially coming back to it after 6 years.

i have to re-learn all over again!

negke Registered, rated this a 5 3 December 2018, 9:22

It doesn't work in the Injector, because there's no DB entry for Drake. I just changed it so that Arcanum now uses Something Wicked as dependency which includes a new version of Drake (downside is a bigger download). This should work, but let us know if you run into any serious errors.

Do not play the maps without Drake, you'd miss out on many monsters, items and weapons.

Lo Frag Traff Guest 3 December 2018, 14:10

aha!

first time qi installed 'something wicked', the second time it didn't.

i see the console message arcstart,bsp not found?

incidfentally the unforgiven works off the bat in qi and it uses the drake mod.

i pressed play on the qi and it goes straight into the game.

also, the installation of the drake and arcanum mods in the quake folder are in the reverse to the unforgiven.

the drake contents went into the unforgiven folder, whereas with arcanum, the arcanum folder went into the drake folder?

it all seems a bit arse about face?

the first time

negke Registered, rated this a 5 3 December 2018, 16:19

Tbh the QI dependency system here is quite barebone and breaks easily. Try it manually. You need to extract arcanum.zip into a folder that already has the Drake stuff (either quake\drake\ or quake\something_wicked) maintaining any directory structure the zip has, e.g. quake\drake\maps\arcanum1.bsp etc). If you use Quakespasm, simply type in the console "game drake" or whatever the mod folder is and it should work.

Lo Frag Traff Guest 3 December 2018, 18:46

yep, that worked, cheers!

that start map is pissing me off something terrible!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in