Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of area51.2
Author:Anders Gustavsson
Title:Area 51
Download:area51.2.zip (33edb26fa234b0014f2da1cfe9129012)
Filesize:1624 Kilobytes
Release date:06.12.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: TEAMShambler
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
area51.txt3 KB06.12.1997
level_3.bsp772 KB06.12.1997
level_1.bsp2445 KB04.12.1997
level_2.bsp1232 KB30.11.1997

area51.2.zip - Area 51

Three small space base maps with unusual but not necessarily bad new textures. OK.

Tags: small, base, campaign, textures, alien, grey, exploration

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit, rated this a 5 20 April 2011, 11:08
Utterly amazing. Reminded me of Jedi Knight with its plain yet working texturing and high focus on exploration.
Ankh, rated this a 4 29 July 2012, 23:49
Definitely worth playing. The gameplay isn't anything special. The texturing is good.
Drew, rated this a 4 9 August 2012, 4:59
A great set of maps. The end is rather meh compared to what precedes it. Might be something of a fetish, but it hits most of the right spots for me.
delor Guest 16 March 2015, 22:55

I agree, just played and beated it ! Nice map pack with a fresh theme (sci-fi base) :)

Also check out "EvilTown" by the same author !

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 3 10 February 2018, 13:44

A decent set of maps that progressively drops off in quality as it goes on - the first map is decently maze-like but simple enough that you shouldn't get stuck, the second map has the exit hidden behind a false wall (!) and the third map is just dumb.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 12 February 2018, 17:18

Only OK. It's about what you'd expect in a super-tiny fan-made episode from 1997. There's no reason to play it in 2018.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 12 February 2018, 17:20

(Reading what other have written ...) Wow, that is some astonishingly over-the-top praise! Are you guys all Anders Gustavsson's family members or something?

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 11 January 2019, 2:43

The new skin of the buttons could have a better indication, like color changing or something. The progress of the maps are good, the only thing to complain about is the part where you press a button to get the silver key, that open the door near it (the second map, I think). I didn't saw the button and had to backtrack a little.

Apart from that, the maps really felt like exploring, especially the second map where you need to swim through the foundations of the facility, it felt like an exploring game more than quake.

1997, really hits the mark.

There IS reason to play it in 2018.

Above average for sure.

epiplon Registered, rated this a 5 11 January 2019, 6:22

I have a lot of fun with this one and the custom textures gives it a really refreshing look..

PlayingThroughTheArchive Guest 18 January 2019, 20:31

Good to know I'm not the only one playing this in 2019! I'm actually playing through all the maps with four or more stars and 3.3 or more user rating, chronologically. Looking forward to starting 1998 soon. :D

This one was OK.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in