Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of arma2
Author:Matthias Worch
Title:Armageddon 2
Download:arma2.zip (95033e00b5de2f1d0d07e36682677abd)
Filesize:457 Kilobytes
Release date:20.10.1996
Homepage:http://www.langsuyar.com
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistTEAMShambler
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ARMA2.TXT4 KB20.10.1996
ARMA2.BSP1066 KB19.10.1996
FILE_ID.DIZ1 KB20.10.1996

arma2.zip - Armageddon 2

Small Metal level.

Tags: metal, runic, small, oldschool, dm

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Bad Sector 3 April 2009, 7:01
Nice and simple level with a couple of tricks here and there that keep it interesting. The design is a bit boxy, but its from 1996 using one of the first map editors, so considering this, the work done is good :-).
Spirit, rated this a 4 23 May 2010, 11:54
Nice oldschool map.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 4 2 March 2014, 19:29

It's one of the best (if not THE best) 1996 map Quaddicted (currently) has in its archives, and it's from the same author who would deliver "Beyond Belief" one year later. Playability is definitely more important than design here, but nevertheless this is anything but ugly! A job well done for a level released so soon after the release of the original game.

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 4 20 April 2014, 21:26

Lots of running back and forth.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 22 August 2014, 16:25

Overall, a pretty awesome level for 1996! There are a couple of weird things I call out in the video but nothing too strange to keep you from enjoying it! Bring on the end of the world, the sequel! Watch me play it here: Armageddon 2 on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 4 10 December 2014, 21:48

A nice little tricks and traps level, it likes to ambush you. That one fiend ambush is a bit much though. Fun but short level worth playing.

...I wonder what happened to Armageddon 1?

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 4 7 January 2015, 4:15

I'm pretty sure this is the sequel to a Doom deathmatch map by the same author: www.doomworld.com/idgames/index.php?file=levels/doom2/deathmatch/a-c/armaged.zip

Anyway, I had a lot of fun with this map. It's a short metal level with some tricks and traps up its sleeves. There is one rather irritating fiend ambush, but apart from that it's a great level with nice looks (for '96) and great gameplay that still holds up pretty well. I recommend you give this one a playthrough. 4/5

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 7 January 2015, 12:14

Agreed with previous commenters: for 1996, this is superb, significantly better than all but the very best of the original ID levels. Lots of fun to play, and pretty good to look at. I've only awarded 3* because Quake level design has moved on so very far since this was created, but it would have been a 4* map not so long ago, and 5* for sure when it was released.

JMP Registered, rated this a 5 1 March 2017, 0:18

Easily the best custom map of 1996. A bunch of other '96 maps are fun and creative, but they're all relatively crude. This is the only one that's polished enough that it could've been part of the original game. There are no secrets, but gameplay is excellent otherwise, mixing close-quarters combat with empty, desolate corridors that give the map a foreboding atmosphere.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 5 6 July 2017, 18:07

A very good map in terms of both looks and gameplay. It is very faithful to McGee's runic style down to little details like buttons being in those bloody recesses and having those small lamps protruding from the floors around corners.

There was one button frame, used in deathmatch, that the author had forgotten to hide for single player, but otherwise I didn't find much to nitpick at.

If the map was done today, I'd probably rate it 4/5, but since it was done in 1996 with a simpler editor, I think it deserves a 5/5.

pmk Guest 17 October 2018, 5:57

all round well designed metal map from 1996 that seems it could have been included in the original game. I like how the level designer teased you with traps that released hell knights as the player is attempting to obtain the silver key to progress through out the level. Although it is a short map, it is one that i would recommend playing to others and i would give it a four out of five rating because it is such a well crafted map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in