Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of asl_1
Author:Asl
Title:Io. Lava Cleaning Base
Download:asl_1.zip (2765f23cc4d71b87f6bbb2102131ffc7)
Filesize:4382 Kilobytes
Release date:18.04.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
asl_1.bsp12300 KB18.04.2020
asl_1.txt1 KB18.04.2020

asl_1.zip - Io. Lava Cleaning Base

Large industrial factory/refinery level with a few arcane elements.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, base, industrial, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 25 April 2020, 21:40

Its very large, could only find 6 out of 25 secrets, but really wasnt searching for them, 5 out 5, enjoyed it, and thats what a good map is all about.well done Asl

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 25 April 2020, 22:11

In fact this is my fav map ever so far, played 3 times in a row skill 3 164 - 164, ive played 100s of maps from on here and other sites, this one get the jucies going.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 4 27 April 2020, 15:59

I finished the map and activated the rune pillar, getting the message "Secret Rune Buttons Are Open". But when I try to reach any of them, the buttons are still in my way, preventing me from obtaining them. What am I missing?

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 4 28 April 2020, 14:53

Ooooooh nevermind, my first interpretation was correct. They are not supposed to be directly accessible, you need to find the buttons that give you access to them but were not previously available.

Text_Fish Registered 6 May 2020, 10:29

--Spoilers-- This is a map of two journeys. Firstly you have the "get to the exit" journey, which tbh is a bit bland and consists of moving from one room to another, pushing a button to open a door to the next. Due to this heavily compartmental design the combat is a bit of a sleepwalk, and the seemingly inexhaustible supply of health and armour compounds this.

BUT! Once you "get to the exit" and survive a surprisingly engaging final battle you realise WHY there was so much health and armour earlier on -- you're not done. And I'm still not done. There's a second journey, which I shall call "find the 4 runes to figure out what's underneath those doors near the exit". On my original journey through I saw three inaccessible runes and I have since gone back and figured out how to pick one up, but the rest are currently alluding me.

In terms of build quality, the brushwork is mostly satisfactory save for a few slightly awkward slopes, steps and corners which should be clipped off in 2020. Texture work is somewhat clumsy and there are jarring sudden transitions from tech to gothic medieval which don't ring true. Unfortunately it's these inconsistencies which are driving me to frustration on my "second journey", as I've reached a point where I'm shooting or hitting every visual glitch I see to try and open a secret door. I've cleared the level of accessible enemies, so the second journey is also very lonely. ;_; This is not fun or rewarding right now.

I'm not going to rate this map until I've 100%'d it because I feel like it still has something up its sleeve. Likewise, it might just continue to frustrate and then disappoint me. I commend the mapper for trying something interesting, but I think I would prefer that the two journeys ran parallel rather than sequential.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in