Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of atlantis
Author:Bruce W. Krueger
Title:Atlantis
Download:atlantis.zip (7b1cfcc65341979b16d71ddffca7e0ae)
Filesize:810 Kilobytes
Release date:24.04.1998
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ATLANTIX.TXT7 KB24.04.1998
CONFIG.CFG3 KB06.12.2000
MAPS/ATLANTIS.BSP719 KB24.04.1998
PROGS/DEMON.MDL385 KB16.01.1998
PROGS/ENFORCER.MDL491 KB21.04.1998
PROGS/H_DEMON.MDL37 KB15.01.1998
PROGS/H_MEGA.MDL21 KB22.04.1998
PROGS/LASER.MDL57 KB23.04.1998
QUICK.SAV83 KB06.12.2000
SOUND/ENFORCER/DEATH1.WAV22 KB29.09.1997
SOUND/ENFORCER/ENFIRE.WAV12 KB23.04.1998
SOUND/ENFORCER/ENFSTOP.WAV10 KB23.04.1998
SOUND/ENFORCER/IDLE1.WAV17 KB22.10.1992
SOUND/ENFORCER/PAIN1.WAV7 KB29.09.1997
SOUND/ENFORCER/PAIN2.WAV8 KB29.09.1997
SOUND/ENFORCER/SIGHT1.WAV7 KB30.09.1997
SOUND/ENFORCER/SIGHT2.WAV11 KB30.09.1997
SOUND/ENFORCER/SIGHT3.WAV7 KB30.09.1997
SOUND/ENFORCER/SIGHT4.WAV8 KB29.09.1997

atlantis.zip - Atlantis

Small temple-themed level set on Atlantis, featuring two new enemy types: female temple guardians and hilarious pouncing jaws.

Tags: temple, surreal, humorous, monsters, small

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.2/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 24 November 2016, 13:57

At the risk of disappointing Madfox (he's the one who unearthed this curio), I really didn't enjoy this at all. Ugly and poorly constructed even by 1998 standards, with weird textures (smileys, seriously?) and even weirder enemies that amount to a whopping total of two types, this sucks on so many levels that I pondered over giving this a 1. Went for 2 because, well, at least it's playable.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 2 24 November 2016, 16:36

Ugly, non-nonsensical and only a very small dash of charm. While custom, there are only two enemy types and that completely kills any sort of drive to finish the map (Although I did.)

Surprisingly a small amount of interconnection does help things along the way but nothing more than 2 stars.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 25 November 2016, 3:57

Forgot to mention that the new monsters are just models. They're replacing existing Quake monsters (enforcer for the sexdroid and fiend for that jaw thingy) and still have the behavior of the monsters they're replacing, plus the sounds in the case of the jaw/fiend. This makes them even weirder and out-of-place than they already are on their own.

dwere Registered 25 November 2016, 10:51

It seems that it was always supposed to be a model showcase, nothing more.

Smileys though. Smileys are OK.

Madfox Registered, rated this a 3 25 November 2016, 23:32

I enjoyed it! What made me glad were the new models and the fact in that time I was crushing the net for an editor, so QEd really had a nice thing here. I do understand with these days comments you can hardly expect more than a rubbish comment now we're all on AD highjacks and bsp2 format engines.

What I tried to remember was that back in the 9ties I was really surprised to catch a quake level on the billboardservice. From my standards back then I remember it as a delight on the shores of the Quake Universe, having played the original numbless times.

New monsters back then were an oddity, the glare of the possibilities someone had done it and maybe I got to do it someday. So for me it's a three, and I'm sure when you would have asked me in 1998 I would go for a four.

Best criticks are everyone, so I wonderded bfg66.., where can I find your level?

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 26 November 2016, 20:22

well, the map itself was kind of corny, but the models were pretty cool. i think they both have potential. i like how when one gibs the eyeballs & teeth, one of the eyeballs is used as the head model. they also seem less intimidating than the actual fiend.

Lane Powell Registered 27 November 2016, 7:32

I don't think bfg or anyone else needs to have made a map to offer an opinion on a map....

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 27 November 2016, 9:54

Yeah, what Lane said. The problem with these models is that they don't fit in a Quake environment (and neither do the smileys). They could be cool in a more comical setting but here they just clash.

BTW, my first map is still under construction.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 27 November 2016, 20:48

Atlantis on The Quake Grave

The thing I can say right off the bat is that this map would be considered pretty average if not for the new models. The map is competent, I didn't have any issues with it on the play-ability side as the pacing was fine. However, I would've liked to see some normal quake models mixed in with these two new ones, or maybe a few more new ones. As the map only contains these 2 different monsters in it, it lacks that variety of enemies Quakers are used to fighting.

Even as a 1998 map, it's a little boxy and texture usage can be a little ugly. It suffers from that whole "plaster one big wall with one texture" thing. Though I will say it gets a few extra points for the use of custom textures and the tomb room with the gold key.

I would recommend checking this out just for the new monsters, the one with the eyeballs and jaws is pretty unique!

Madfox Registered, rated this a 3 28 November 2016, 10:41

Best criticks are everyone. It was not ment offended.

Thing is that when I first played the map I found a bug. On the startpoint is a dark wall with rocks that one can climb. Behind it lays a teleporter, but it's blocked with a bad brush, it telleports to the upper ledge. So I rebuiled the level, dimmed the lights a bit as it looked a oversizesed, and then decided to keep the original map as honnour to the author.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 1 December 2016, 11:59

Absolutely awful. Horrible new models, lumpen textures, tedious, repetitive gameplay with only two kinds of monster, arbitrary progression, chronic ammo shortage ... I could go on.

JMP Registered 6 December 2016, 14:16

After reading all the comments, I thought this would be terrible, but I actually liked it. Judged by normal Quake standards, this isn't a great map. But as a purposely weird, surreal novelty, it's pretty good. As a novelty, this doesn't have a lot of replay value, but I enjoyed playing it once.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 2 29 January 2018, 21:06

Apart from the death animation of the 'fiend' didn't like the rest.

Ammo shortage, must exist an incompatibility in my quake engine, because the SS and other itens didn's spawn. Rated this a 2 for originality

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in