Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of autumn_sp
Author:human[rus]
Title:Early Autumn
Download:autumn_sp.zip (4e3cc6b9de27affd2dacc85a2a407c74)
Filesize:1612 Kilobytes
Release date:20.02.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
autumn_sp.bsp3598 KB20.02.2020
autumn_sp.map2913 KB15.02.2020
autumn_sp.txt1 KB20.02.2020

autumn_sp.zip

Early Autumn

Large, spacious and somewhat empty castle with a focus on unusual shapes. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: surreal, debut, medival, large, medieval

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
2.4/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








anon Guest 22 March 2020, 16:55

Nice map, but game-saving is bugged.

JMP Registered 28 March 2020, 2:55

This has very unique architecture, which is both a strength and a weakness.

The brushwork is often interesting, as in the screenshot. And the architecture, with its mix of somber interiors and crisp but not-too-bright outdoor areas, creates a distinctive autumnal mood. The map lives up to its title.

Yet almost all of the rooms and hallways are huge, so it's easy to pick off enemies from a distance or run right past them. Apart from one clever ambush near the start, the combat is devoid of surprises. Also, ammo is relatively tight, so players who are less accurate or less conservative will frequently run low.

I'm impressed that the author managed to create such an aesthetically distinct map for his debut, but I hope he puts more emphasis on gameplay in future maps.

PalmliX Registered 6 April 2020, 15:28

JMP's review was great so not much else to add here but figured I'd chime in since I did play it. The author had some neat ideas here for architecture and environmental feel and an interesting use of a trigger_jump in the first arena. Unfortunately the ideas don't amount to much in terms of actual gameplay and many of the areas feel too large and empty. Overall a unique first map and better than many first maps but will definitely be interested to see what this author does next. I hope they keep their interesting ideas about architecture and continue to refine on that and on gameplay.

Jehannum Registered 24 August 2021, 21:02

I would have rated this higher but for the bug which prevents the loading of a saved game. When you try to load, the game hangs at the 'loading' screen and the only way out is to close the game. One symptom is that in the saved game list, the level name appears, but the kills column is empty. It does this with QS and QSS both ver. 0.93.2

I was looking at this level as though it were experimental as far as brushwork geometry goes. I found it unusual and interesting in that respect. Also, the lighting was impressive at times.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in