Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of back2forwards
Author:LTH
Title:Forwards Compatible
Download:back2forwards.zip (ab48d5e85f3a0581bebb7a29f301788d)
Filesize:3374 Kilobytes
Release date:19.01.2008
Homepage:http://www.random-productions.co.uk/quake/
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
maps/back2forwards.map2055 KB05.03.2004
maps/back2forwards.bsp2975 KB19.01.2008
maps/back2forwards.lit1305 KB05.03.2004
forwards.cfg1 KB18.01.2008
back2forwards.txt2 KB18.01.2008
quake.rc1 KB29.02.2004
progs.dat420 KB19.01.2008
gfx/env/Nebular_rt.tga193 KB24.06.2000
gfx/env/Nebular_lf.tga193 KB24.06.2000
gfx/env/Nebular_bk.tga193 KB24.06.2000
gfx/env/Nebular_dn.tga193 KB24.06.2000
gfx/env/Nebular_ft.tga193 KB24.06.2000
gfx/env/Nebular_up.tga193 KB24.06.2000
qc/MISC.QC15 KB04.03.2004
qc/SOLDIER.QC10 KB25.07.1996
qc/DOORS.QC18 KB05.03.2004
qc/WEAPONS.QC25 KB04.06.2000
qc/OGRE.QC15 KB20.10.2001
qc/BUILTIN.C31 KB25.07.1996
qc/lieutenant.QC8 KB20.06.2004
qc/progdefs.h3 KB20.06.2004
qc/CMDLIB.C9 KB25.07.1996
qc/OLDONE.QC10 KB25.07.1996
qc/PLAYER.QC18 KB25.07.1996
qc/PLATS.QC8 KB25.02.2004
qc/CLIENT.QC33 KB29.01.2000
qc/ZOMBIE.QC21 KB25.07.1996
qc/DEMON.QC11 KB29.02.2004
qc/BOSS.QC13 KB25.07.1996
qc/dpextensions.qc36 KB19.02.2004
qc/FISH.QC8 KB25.07.1996
qc/SUBS.QC7 KB25.07.1996
qc/TRIGGERS.QC15 KB25.07.1996
qc/WORLD.QC12 KB25.07.1996
qc/KNIGHT.QC10 KB25.07.1996
qc/FIGHT.QC8 KB25.07.1996
qc/COMBAT.QC7 KB25.07.1996
qc/AMTEST.QC2 KB25.07.1996
qc/WIZARD.QC11 KB25.07.1996
qc/PROGS.SRC1 KB29.02.2004
qc/DEFS.QC18 KB20.10.2001
qc/AI.QC15 KB20.10.2001
qc/SHAMBLER.QC13 KB27.02.2004
qc/JCTEST.QC1 KB25.07.1996
qc/TARBABY.QC8 KB25.07.1996
qc/HKNIGHT.QC19 KB26.02.2004
qc/error.log7 KB20.06.2004
qc/BUTTONS.QC3 KB25.07.1996
qc/MODELS.QC11 KB25.07.1996
qc/MONSTERS.QC5 KB29.02.2004
qc/robot.qc2 KB29.02.2004
qc/ITEMS.QC30 KB05.03.2004
qc/SPRITES.QC1 KB25.07.1996
qc/DOG.QC10 KB25.07.1996
qc/ENFORCER.QC12 KB29.02.2004
qc/SHALRATH.QC8 KB25.07.1996
progs/plants.mdl18 KB03.03.2004
progs/leaf.mdl6 KB03.03.2004
progs/enforce2.mdl590 KB05.03.2004
progs/up-shot.mdl35 KB05.03.2004
progs/up-nail.mdl40 KB29.02.2004
progs/leafs.mdl19 KB04.03.2004
progs/enforcer.mdl634 KB21.12.2000
progs/robot.MDL283 KB29.02.2004
progs/soldier.mdl564 KB26.02.2004
progs/hknight.mdl684 KB26.02.2004

back2forwards.zip - Forwards Compatible

A big rusty metal (rubicon) space station.

Tags: rubicon, space, base, large, source, nonlinear

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 11 December 2012, 20:05
In my opinion, this map it's on the top 5 of base maps, thanks to the feeling of wholeness in the layout, that gives the real sensation of going through rooms, instead of just carved spaces in the middle of nowhere like in most maps. This way, the map get a very good non-linearity, where you don't get lost thanks to the different personality of each room

For the rest, it's a nice one, difficulty is lower than ID maps, but there is some interesting situations, the amount of ammo/health/armor is way more than needed, the brushwork is cool too.

Resuming 4,5/5
jackieben Registered, rated this a 5 8 January 2014, 17:58

Feels a bit like Q2

mfx Registered, rated this a 4 19 April 2014, 23:08

Had this on my HD for quite a few years, played it every now and then... It has its highlights in actually feeling very real, not just room on room put together, as Cocerello pointed out. Inspired me a lot, though i think now, it is a bit bland here and there. Very easy too! I like easy.

Yhe1 Guest 23 September 2014, 8:11

Necros has made a patch that fixes the aim of the final boss enforcer.

http://www.quaketastic.com/files/single_player/maps/Forwardfix.rar

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 1 October 2015, 13:28

Stands up well seven years on, with a good feeling of exploration combined with a sense of progression. The spaceship environment is pretty well rendered, and some nice use of transparency, coloured lighting and a custom skybox early on gets things off to a particularly good start cosmetically. If I were being very critical, I might with that the same level of detail had been applied throughout the map.

The fiend ambush is a hoot.

An interesting thing about this map: as in real life, there are some rooms that contain enemies, and others that contain supplies; but not often rooms with both, which is what we're used to in Quake. You enter a room, you kill the monsters, you pick up your reward. Not here: most of the supplies are in cabinets, so you will run low on ammo or not according to the order you open doors in. I quite like that (though I might wish the storerooms were marked in some way).

All in all, probably just good enough even in 2015 to merit four stars. The seems to have been LTH's last map, coming a full seven years after his previous run. If so, it's a good way to go out. Well worth playing.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 1 October 2015, 13:30

This is my 500th comment! How the time flies! This is a good opportunity to take a moment and thank Spirit for putting this site together. Go, Spirit!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in