Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of backstein1e
Author:sock
Title:Backsteingotik
Download:backstein1e.zip (80cc9a8f21947423ca14e39884c0af01)
Filesize:5523 Kilobytes
Release date:06.07.2013
Homepage:http://www.simonoc.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
backsteinHard0h32m12serc6662013-12-08
Died once.

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
backstein1e_readme.txt11 KB06.07.2013
pak0.pak17150 KB06.07.2013
pak1.pak166 KB06.07.2013

backstein1e.zip - Backsteingotik

Large brick-style dungeon with wind tunnels. It has a built-in skill selection area and comes with custom medieval items. The map source is included in the PAK.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: large, medieval, bricks, items, limits, source, secrets, wind tunnels, e3m5, mustplay, start map

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 35 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
mfx Registered, rated this a 5 7 July 2013, 10:39

What a beautiful masterpiece. Perfect in all aspects!

user7346 Registered 7 July 2013, 15:51

Holy mother of.....

Vumpire Registered 7 July 2013, 20:32

nice

Daz Registered, rated this a 5 9 July 2013, 22:04

Video of the map

5 Stars! Loved every second of it :)

FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 5 14 July 2013, 12:38

Truly great map. Sock is a mapping monster!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 July 2013, 3:55

Beautiful indeed. Seventeen years on, Quake continues to surprise and delight.

While I'm here, can I just offer my profound thanks not just to Sock but to ALL of you awesome people who have kept producing beautiful maps for the best part of two decades? I still love Quake like I love no other FPS -- it has a solidity, a chunky feel, that makes everything else seem flabby in comparison. It's marvelous that new content keeps appearing for my favorite game, and that each year's offerings seem better than the last.

You guys rock.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 1 August 2013, 20:59

That re-playability and exploration ...

mmm Registered, rated this a 5 12 August 2013, 21:30

Excellent stuff. Again, I love how you can go back after the final battle and spend your time enjoying amazing architecture and searching for secrets.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 11 September 2013, 2:33

Great gameplay and architecture, and best use of wind tunnels in any map I've played.

Spirit Guest 3 October 2013, 10:16

That screenshot really does not do the map justice.

Lava Croft Guest 6 October 2013, 0:39

One word: Wauw.

Ok, a bit more: I think that I speak for everyone that loves Quake singleplayer when I say that I am incredibly grateful that you re-found your love for Quake. Please don't stop.

raptore Registered, rated this a 4 1 November 2013, 22:09

This is a very good slice of quake. Definitely do not miss it. Has some subtle architectural clues about where to go and where to find what.

Some events are triggered by standing in a certain place, so it is not always enough to clear an area in order to progress, you also need to walk on it.

Qmaster Registered, rated this a 5 23 November 2013, 23:33

Excellent design, great flow, loved the blocker/crushers. The only point of contention I could find were the two areas that there were nail shooters in the walls, they seemed pointless as they would only activate after getting past them.

Loved the tall hazy feel. Overall a great map to play with a great flow and layout.

5/5

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2013, 17:23

A truly wonderful map, both in terms of gameplay and aesthetics. It really does not get much better than this. The readme is worth reading for a bit of added context.

Breezeep Registered 1 December 2013, 15:38

I get this error when I try to play the map: Hunk_alloc: failed on 1841427344 bytes How do I fix this?

erc Registered, rated this a 4 8 December 2013, 17:45

Solid architecture, memorable fights (those crushers) - cool map. Got 6 out of 10 secrets. Demo uploaded.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 5 February 2014, 15:51

Stop using "mustplay" as a tag please.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 5 February 2014, 15:52

Exactly what onetruepurple said.

QuakeForever Registered 6 February 2014, 2:19

Why is mustplay an invalid tag?

Ijed Guest 6 February 2014, 10:50

Because wether or not something must be played is completely subjective and doesnt describe the map at all.

How good a Level is is described by the rating system.

You may as well start applying an 'tofu' tag.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 6 February 2014, 14:43

For what it's worth, I agree that tags are most useful when purely descriptive. (I've added evaluation tags myself in the past, and regretted it.)

QuakeForever Registered 19 February 2014, 6:23

I guess I agree about the tags. In fact they're not even allowed now (right below the add tags feature). Just commenting.

QuakeForever Registered 19 February 2014, 6:24

Opinions and subjective stuff are indeed better as ratings/comments, when I come to think about it.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 2 March 2014, 19:44

Perfect wind tunnel experience! Go through one tunnel each to grab both keys and optionally enter two vaults for additional goodies to survive the encounters with hordes of knights and some other baddies. The brown brick color theme is consequently applied and delivers a consistent ingame experience. Exemplary map that shows what good level design is all about and that Quake is very alive even now still.

delor Guest 9 November 2014, 3:52

I don't like brick textured maps.. anyway indeed a solid effort by sock though a bit claustrophobic (gulp)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in