Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of barzai
Author:Greenwood
Title:Bunker of Barzai
Download:barzai.zip (e032c817fe2bd2b22691e530042e3d8e)
Filesize:4238 Kilobytes
Release date:23.01.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
barzaiNightmare0h03m56sArcaneFiend6662020-02-02
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Read_Me.txt2 KB23.01.2020
barzai.bsp2994 KB23.01.2020
barzai_poster.png3027 KB23.01.2020

barzai.zip

Bunker of Barzai

Medium-sized metal/runic dungeon; uses a few custom textures.

Tags: medium, metal, runic, lava

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 34 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ninja Registered 2 February 2020, 14:18

Short but sweet map.Bug free.Played it on skill 3, could only find 3 of the 8 secrets.The larva swim and dive was the hardest part,it was a good old fashion quake map, just wish it was bigger, but have to give it 5 stars, it was very well made.

QuakeFreak Registered 9 February 2020, 2:17

Ton of fun in a small package. Great work!

JMP Registered 13 February 2020, 14:15

Impressive release and very fun to play.

Some of the secrets are too easy, IMO, and I didn't like having to fight zombies in a pool of lava, but overall this is a great map.

brunomiwa Registered 21 February 2020, 0:08

great map.

The lava pool was a bit off, since you had 8 secrets you tend to explore more, but the invul makes it a timed run.

One of the last part was a bit too easy because of the secrets power ups. 2 quad damage, 1 mega health and 1 red armor very close to each other.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 February 2020, 21:52

Fun and satisfyingly chunky. I found the lava pool frustrating at first, till I realised that the pent respawns and so you can take multiple runs at it.

Mugwump Registered 17 September 2020, 6:38

Love this map! Much better than Off Base. Then again, I'm a sucker for e3 metal style. Some things I would change, though: adding color lighting, replacing base monsters with eldritch ones and removing that exit sign in plain english. We're not in a human base, we're in the netherworld, home of the ogres and death knights. BTW, this would have been great in AD, with the aforementioned monsters' variants, and Greenwood could have added a wraith as Barzai himself for a final "boss" instead of that puny shambler.

Easy Mode Scrub 30 December 2020, 10:18

Two bugs, one major: the door to the RA secret clips into the room below, and the room containing said secret is impassable on easy because one of the fiends needed to open the floor hatch doesn't spawn.

I was lucky enough to find the secret in the lava on my first run, which made it much easier. The highlight of the map for me, unique and fun.

The worst part was easily the enforcers. They're a chore to kill, a distraction from the monsters that are actually in the way and a thematic clash all in one.

The buttons and exit sign were also out of place, even more so than the enforcers. I can handle a forward base in the netherworld, but why would runic mechanisms have technological controls?


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Jehannum Registered 26 August 2021, 23:17

This map was a fast-paced ton of fun on skill 2. I have the feeling though, that I've played it before. The lower level areas are strangely familiar. I guess that's what happens when you get old!

Thanks for a fun level!

JMP Guest 26 August 2021, 23:42

@Jehannum

This map was re-released as part of Epochs of Enmity, so if you've played EoE, that's why the map seems familiar.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in