Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of beach1
Author:Kid
Title:The Beaches Of Hell
Download:beach1.zip (3150a74864ea63283beab445d97e5e6a)
Filesize:220 Kilobytes
Release date:28.07.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's Playlist
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
beach.txt4 KB28.07.1997
beach.bsp527 KB28.07.1997
beach.map34 KB28.07.1997

beach1.zip - The Beaches Of Hell

Author: "A very well done level". Sure, just take a look at the screenshot...

Tags: small, wizard, lava, fullbright, source, trap, dire

Editor's Rating: Crap
User Rating: 1.4/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 6 January 2014, 15:03

That was truly terrible in every single way.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 7 January 2014, 11:20

Ok, I get that you did not like this map and I respect your assessment even if I disagree -- but was it really necessary to add the tag "dire", MikeTaylor? Surely the comment and rating system should suffice for expressing your opinion.

Unless I am mistaken, tags should provide some fairly objective descriptions (map type, texture set, technical characteristics, etc.) and facilitate better search results. No-one is going to search for "dire" -- if you want to play a low-rated map, you just order your search results by rating.

Besides, if we all start adding evaluative tags, pretty soon there will be at least one map simultaneously tagged "masterpiece" and "rubbish", for instance, which would just be absurd and counter-productive.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 7 January 2014, 11:26

For what it's worth, my take on the map:

Yes, the readme is a little arrogant and naïve, but then again the author was rather young at the time. The map itself is incredibly ugly and poor overall, but playable. There are two very easy secrets and an additional unmarked secret (or trap, depending on how you play), which is kind of clever.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 7 January 2014, 11:42

Yep, you're right -- I was wrong to add the "dire" tag. Spirit, if you can easily remove it, I'd appreciate that.

onetruepurple Registered 7 January 2014, 20:17

This map is dire in every meaning of the word.

Opus131 Registered, rated this a 1 5 June 2015, 2:43

The map is truly dire, and pointless. The "trap" consists in getting teleported into molten lava, but you can survive that if you pick up a Pentagram of Protection which is right there. You then get to kill some fishes while in the lava which is the only way to get a complete monster kill count.

But seriously, don't play this.

Opus131 Registered, rated this a 1 5 June 2015, 2:43

The map is truly dire, and pointless. The "trap" consists in getting teleported into molten lava, but you can survive that if you pick up a Pentagram of Protection which is right there. You then get to kill some fishes while in the lava which is the only way to get a complete monster kill count.

But seriously, don't play this.

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 1 28 September 2016, 23:53

Unlike the lower-ranked levels, this one has an exit and more stuff to kill. It also has a secret. Unfortunately, the secret contains a poorly constructed teleporter that teleports you into the lava. Sorry for giving away the surprise!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 29 September 2016, 14:54

Ubiquitous, are you deliberately playing all the worst maps? :-)

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 1 29 September 2016, 19:20

Yes.

  • There is something fascinating about the scientific rigour with which quaddicted catalogues every known, released Quake map, no matter how bad.

  • They are often very short and I was able to get through a bunch of them in an hour, which was kind of relaxing.

  • There is something fulfilling about trying to look for the positives in even the worst maps. Admittedly, some authors make this quite hard work.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 29 September 2016, 22:36

:-)

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 1 4 February 2019, 2:05

This is BAD.

pmk Guest 19 April 2019, 6:45

Yeah this map was pretty boring and unfinished. I would not recommend downloading this map as i give it a one out of five rating.

epiplon Registered, rated this a 1 21 April 2019, 22:25

Awesome.

Kid Guest 13 June 2019, 8:22

Not sure if anyone will read this, but... yeah, this is a bad map. It was made in a generation when surprise deaths were supposed to increase difficulty. It's short, stupid, poorly designed, and... I was 13 years old when I made it.

Of course, this is no excuse for its terrible quality. I was teaching myself with WorldCraft and certainly didn't understand the intricacies of non-rectangular brushes. I won't say my artistic skills have improved, but at least I no longer subject the world to my lack thereof.

And if anyone who previously posted reads this, your comments are all spot on; but I still appreciate there is an audience for it 22 years down the line. Long live Quake.

JMP Guest 13 June 2019, 14:02

Kid,

I'm glad you can take all the criticism in stride. Your map, despite its flaws, is still probably better than anything I would have made at age 13...

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 17 June 2019, 17:09

Indeed, and better that any map I have ever made.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in