Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of berthe
Author:Leonardi
Title:Berthe, Mistress of Novices
Download:berthe.zip (2695ba261e79b7236df829e9a37b518e)
Filesize:1408 Kilobytes
Release date:23.09.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
berthe.bsp1428 KB23.09.2020
berthe.map660 KB23.09.2020
berthe.txt3 KB23.09.2020
music/track16.ogg728 KB22.09.2020

berthe.zip

Berthe, Mistress of Novices

Small beginner's base map. Comes with a custom music track. The map source is included.

Tags: small, base, music, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 2.4/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JMP Registered, rated this a 3 22 October 2020, 3:34

This plays like a 1996 beginner map, with creative ideas and eccentric charm but very crude construction. The author mentioned on func that he built this without any prior experience mapping and leaned how to use a map editor in the process, so the crudeness is understandable. One exception to the map's beginner feel is the secrets, which are actually quite subtle and clever.

ArrrCee, rated this a 3 29 December 2020, 1:34

Berthe, Mistress of Novices on The Quake Grave

When played, it very obviously feels like a map from the days of Quake yore and it comes equipped with a built in story that is told through text pops on screen. I thought this was a cool approach to telling a story. The biggest issue with the map is how linear it is. It seems virtually impossible ot get lost as you're basially following a long hallway from start to end. While this doesn't bother me as much as others, I do like a bit more exploration in or at least the illusion of it. Nice job though, looking forward to the next one!


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

MikeTaylor, rated this a 3 28 January 2021, 16:45

I thought this was rather jolly, with an unusual degree of narrative even if it was rather too jokey. It fell apart a bit at the end, when it turned out that retrieving the errant nun was (rot13) npghnyyl whfg xvyyvat n iber, but I guess I can forgive tha


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in