Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bindingtower2
Author:Albert van Zyl
Title:Binding Tower
Download:bindingtower2.zip (8eda55daefc92a31e39872a7ed1cf314)
Filesize:8894 Kilobytes
Release date:10.06.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
bindingtowerNightmare0h11m27sArcaneFiend6662019-06-23
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
bindingtower.txt2 KB13.05.2019
gfx/env/adgreenskybk.tga1485 KB28.11.2015
gfx/env/adgreenskydn.tga1529 KB28.11.2015
gfx/env/adgreenskyft.tga1665 KB28.11.2015
gfx/env/adgreenskylf.tga1540 KB20.12.2015
gfx/env/adgreenskyrt.tga1667 KB28.11.2015
gfx/env/adgreenskyup.tga1757 KB20.12.2015
maps/bindingtower.bsp14502 KB10.06.2019
maps/bindingtower.map5015 KB10.06.2019

bindingtower2.zip

Binding Tower

Large map with a castle in a dark forest. Comes with a custom skybox and the map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support.


Tags: large, forest, trees, tower, castle, medieval, nature, skybox, limits, bsp2, wizard, outdoor

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 42 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 25 June 2019, 5:18

DANG! What a level! I love it! Gameplay is great, visuals are very "Wonderland" and very detailed. Just a blast overall.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 25 June 2019, 16:36

What happens when you activate the last altar?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 26 June 2019, 12:53

Well, that aside, I really enjoyed this, especially in the early stages where there was lots of exploring to do and it was easy to get low on health. Arguably it was a little anticlimactic after discovering the hall of teleporters, and I could have done with another big, hard combat after the silver- and gold-key doors. But still, well worth playing.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 7 July 2019, 21:28

Really cool map! Nice design, ace atmosphere and fun gameplay.

Scratters Registered, rated this a 5 10 July 2019, 3:12

Loved it, visually very enchanting,great game play playing on nightmare, only bad thing i can say is that the secrets were too obvious, but apart from that awesome.

guest Guest 22 July 2019, 22:08

awesome map

todompoll Registered 29 July 2019, 5:44

Great map...had to go online to find a video of someone doing the level since could not get to one of the alters. Found an issue with the room behind the railgun. When playing as a server to host multiple players, the door behind the railgun that has an alter does not open. If running as a single player the door does open. Tested on multiple computers and 0.93 Quakespasm.

s3thra Guest 2 September 2019, 13:41

Great map. I posted a play-through video for anyone interested here: https://youtu.be/UJArEm9pKtI

Fox Guest 20 October 2019, 7:17

Quaint, pleasant little map that I would definitely recommend

Ryan_H Registered, rated this a 5 7 November 2019, 19:42

Any thoughts on that? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfru7pqrQ6E&feature=youtu.be Am i'm doing smth wrong?

iw Guest 8 November 2019, 16:39

Ryan_H, it looks like you're using the old v1.00 version of the Copper mod. It had a bug which affected certain door setups (specifically where a door has a "wait" value of -1).

If you use the current Copper v1.05, the problem should go away.

It looks like the version of Copper here on Quaddicted is still the old version, but you can get the current v1.05 from the author's website:

http://lunaran.com/copper/download.html

Note that save game files are not forwards-compatible between versions (you're likely to experience strange bugs if you load a save game from the old version with the new version). So if you've got a save game file for this map, I'd recommend ignoring it and starting over after you upgrade Copper.

Ryan_H Registered, rated this a 5 8 November 2019, 18:18

Yup, you were right!

Dutch Registered, rated this a 4 17 November 2019, 10:55

A totally unique map with well balanced gameplay on Hard mode (didn't play on the other skill settings). Monsters are well placed and look at home in the foggy forest/ruins. Never thought trees could look so good made out of cones and cylinders haha. Well done

erc Registered, rated this a 5 29 September 2020, 8:30

Awesome, atmospheric stock ID map - looks old-schoolish yet feels modern and polished due to the rarely used theme and varied / balanced progression. Starts out explorative, ends on a more linear note: fun throughout.

vIE888 Registered, rated this a 5 28 November 2020, 9:19

Yup, same as above, very nice map. Short and intense, with a little Alice in Wonderland twist, that's what I like.

So, maybe an episode or two? ;)

I Like Quake Guest 23 July 2021, 21:13

Yes, Alice in Wonderland, enchanted forest vibes. Eyephoric visuals.

Nice touch with the books of esoteric knowledge lying on tables. Gets in the vibe of forbidden / forgotten knowledge.

Love that the trees are 3D, not sprites; it puts the "deep" in "deep forest".

One of a kind.

triple_agent Registered 5 August 2021, 23:46

I am uncertain whether calling this map an "instant classic" is any fair, but certainly an "instant one of the favorites", indeed.

'Alice in the Wonderland' meets 'Quake'. There is probably nothing uncanny about such setup eventually coming to existence - adaptation of 'Alice' themes in the 'Quake' formula - but the way the map is done, is well worth recognition.

Artfulness of the "Binding Tower" - showing furthermore the mastery of technology at hand - does tell of great vision, great experience of the mapper - either or both.

The environments of "Binding Tower", even though of 'Quake' bone - in flesh, remind nothing of what we have become used to in the murky, cryptic, quasi-industrial worlds of the classic Episodes. On the other hand, it would be hard to tell the "Binding Tower", is not a cryptic and murky piece of universe itself. It is just different. That is wonderful.

The map, made me genuinely want to explore all of it. Bravo.

The trees, are one of a kind, even though, I can hardly see them applied anywhere outside of the "looney otherworld" theme. Maybe in an "X-mas jam" of sort, perhaps.

aoanla Guest 11 October 2021, 21:46

Like everyone else, I really liked the theming and design of this map - it definitely manages to sell its own artistic direction, very different to the usual.

It also lasted exactly as long as it needed to, which is something that a lot of people underestimate as a design skill.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in