Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bmfbrsp1
Author:bmFbr
Title:The Doomed Cathedral
Download:bmfbrsp1.zip (015df9405e99c3d76f4b63c5ecc90342)
Filesize:3280 Kilobytes
Release date:25.08.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
bmfbrsp1.bsp5299 KB25.08.2020
bmfbrsp1.lit1380 KB25.08.2020
bmfbrsp1.map2169 KB25.08.2020
bmfbrsp1.txt2 KB26.08.2020

bmfbrsp1.zip

The Doomed Cathedral

Medium-sized cathedral with a base area. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, wizard, base, cathedral, lava, limits, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.6/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 4 29 August 2020, 13:15

Fabio, congrats on your first map! This seems a difficult birth (20 years!), i hope the next map will arrive a little bit faster... ;) There are some good ideas in this map. The negative thing... too many textures. IMHO this would have been very good, especially for a first map, if just one set of textures / one style had been used throughout. Looking forward to the next map!

The Silent Registered, rated this a 3 2 September 2020, 19:30

Mildly entertaining map with a few very good ideas. Very oldschool. Impressive for a first attempt started so many moons ago.

holaareola Registered, rated this a 4 3 September 2020, 18:03

I really liked this. A mishmash of classic styles, from runic to base and back again. It's kind of weird, but I appreciated it since Quake mappers tend to be quite conservative about this and it gave it a freshness. The visuals are uneven as you might expect from a gestation with a double-decade interruption (the large churchy area near the start being the most late-90s). But saying that, there are lot of nice architectural ideas going on without it being fussy. Brutalism suits Quake best in any case. The nail-shooter trap area winding through itself to the outside was my favourite part of the map. It looked excellent with the runic flligree and was a tight bit of level design. Wish I could have worked out how to get that RL though. Speaking of secrets, the red armour entrance was a fine bit of in plain sight secret sequestering!

Difficulty was bang on for me, I probably died around 5 times on nightmare with 9/14 secrets. Ammo quite plentiful, but as long as you're dying, who cares?

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 6 September 2020, 21:33

I'm glad the author decided to finish and release this after 20 years. I don't mind the mixing of textures; it's charmingly old-school, and most of the individual rooms look good. The secrets are also good. I missed a bunch, and that alone gives this replay value.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 19 September 2020, 14:33

I sort of don't admire this map much — the style mishmash is jarring, and the progression is very arbitrary — but boy, did I enjoy the heck out of it. Part of that is the perfect calibration of difficulty, so that I spent much of the time low on health and/or ammo. Not bad at all, and I am really glad this finally made it out into the wild!

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 29 November 2020, 2:34

The Doomed Cathedral on The Quake Grave

I love the look and progression of this map and overall, I have no real issues with it! The only thing I might've taken more of a look at on this one is how difficult the quad run at the end is. The map is paced in a way that you can kind of take your time and you're not on edge, but then you're thrown into this part where you better grab that quad and make a run for it to take out as many enemies as you can before it runs out! It's a welcomed change of pace, however, it's tough! I found myself out of ammo at the end having to run the first half of it several times to get a good feel for how to approach the next area. The difficulty just ramps up out of nowhere and I think that more novice players might have a really hard time with this part.

DragonsForLunch 17 January 2021, 12:14

Fun map with good use of backtracking. I had thought the combo of base and medieval theme might be jarring but it worked surprisingly well. My favorite area was the runic part and that seems also be the newest part of the map. Good on the mapper for finishing an old map! A little so low on health near the end forced me to rush past the monsters but otherwise well balanced.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in