Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bmfbrsp1
Author:bmFbr
Title:The Doomed Cathedral
Download:bmfbrsp1.zip (015df9405e99c3d76f4b63c5ecc90342)
Filesize:3280 Kilobytes
Release date:25.08.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
bmfbrsp1.bsp5299 KB25.08.2020
bmfbrsp1.lit1380 KB25.08.2020
bmfbrsp1.map2169 KB25.08.2020
bmfbrsp1.txt2 KB26.08.2020

bmfbrsp1.zip

The Doomed Cathedral

Medium-sized cathedral with a base area. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, wizard, base, cathedral, lava, limits, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 4 29 August 2020, 13:15

Fabio, congrats on your first map! This seems a difficult birth (20 years!), i hope the next map will arrive a little bit faster... ;) There are some good ideas in this map. The negative thing... too many textures. IMHO this would have been very good, especially for a first map, if just one set of textures / one style had been used throughout. Looking forward to the next map!

The Silent Registered, rated this a 3 2 September 2020, 19:30

Mildly entertaining map with a few very good ideas. Very oldschool. Impressive for a first attempt started so many moons ago.

holaareola Registered, rated this a 4 3 September 2020, 18:03

I really liked this. A mishmash of classic styles, from runic to base and back again. It's kind of weird, but I appreciated it since Quake mappers tend to be quite conservative about this and it gave it a freshness. The visuals are uneven as you might expect from a gestation with a double-decade interruption (the large churchy area near the start being the most late-90s). But saying that, there are lot of nice architectural ideas going on without it being fussy. Brutalism suits Quake best in any case. The nail-shooter trap area winding through itself to the outside was my favourite part of the map. It looked excellent with the runic flligree and was a tight bit of level design. Wish I could have worked out how to get that RL though. Speaking of secrets, the red armour entrance was a fine bit of in plain sight secret sequestering!

Difficulty was bang on for me, I probably died around 5 times on nightmare with 9/14 secrets. Ammo quite plentiful, but as long as you're dying, who cares?

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 6 September 2020, 21:33

I'm glad the author decided to finish and release this after 20 years. I don't mind the mixing of textures; it's charmingly old-school, and most of the individual rooms look good. The secrets are also good. I missed a bunch, and that alone gives this replay value.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 19 September 2020, 14:33

I sort of don't admire this map much — the style mishmash is jarring, and the progression is very arbitrary — but boy, did I enjoy the heck out of it. Part of that is the perfect calibration of difficulty, so that I spent much of the time low on health and/or ammo. Not bad at all, and I am really glad this finally made it out into the wild!

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 29 November 2020, 2:34

The Doomed Cathedral on The Quake Grave

I love the look and progression of this map and overall, I have no real issues with it! The only thing I might've taken more of a look at on this one is how difficult the quad run at the end is. The map is paced in a way that you can kind of take your time and you're not on edge, but then you're thrown into this part where you better grab that quad and make a run for it to take out as many enemies as you can before it runs out! It's a welcomed change of pace, however, it's tough! I found myself out of ammo at the end having to run the first half of it several times to get a good feel for how to approach the next area. The difficulty just ramps up out of nowhere and I think that more novice players might have a really hard time with this part.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in