Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bod
Author:spy
Title:Tower Of Dal Gurak
Download:bod.zip (f029d5a2f8436a328237267d95d329fd)
Filesize:10033 Kilobytes
Release date:02.05.2008
Homepage:
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Pak0.pak20204 KB02.05.2008
bod.txt4 KB02.05.2008

bod.zip - Tower Of Dal Gurak

A big castle in the spirit of Kinn's works. Remake of a map with the same name from the game Blade of Darkness. Ok.

Tags: huge, q3 gothic, castle, remake, blade of darkness, hordes, horde

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ron, rated this a 5 21 January 2010, 15:07
Excellent map, this !
Really nice architecture and great gameplay. If you like your Quake brutal, you'll love this map. Maybe the score is a bit low because it's a remake, but it's well worth a download !
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:39
Not all that detailed but it should have rating excellent.
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 31 May 2012, 12:40
This map is awesome! Why did the editor rated it just "nice"? It should have had 5-stars.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 25 December 2012, 18:18
Played on nightmare. 5/8 secrets. 314/318 monsters.

I won't comment on the remake part, i haven't played Blade of darkness.

The map is big, both in size and lenght, with a good gameplay like the one in kinn_bastion, with the flaws that the monster spawning is weird and simple sometimes, with some monsters appearing just in your face at close combat distance and others in places where they can't hit you. Difficulty is nice (around ID maps) but varies a lot. The map is overloaded in ammo and armor (if you find the secrets) but lacks some health packs sometimes. Architecture and brushwork are nice, The layout is interesting, and made to give the option of an alternate route. Secrets are fine, but a bit simple in 2 cases.

Resuming: a good map to play for an hour of good entertainment, but it has ways to go to get to Kinn maps level.
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 6 December 2013, 1:11

i loved this map. i thought the gameplay was intense for the most part, yet i was able to keep myself alive. usually i'm dog meat! ammo was almost too plentiful, even for me. overall a really fun map!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 10 December 2013, 11:01

You can quibble with technical aspects of this map -- the brushwork is a bit crude in places, and some of the architecture doesn't make a whole lot of sense. But it's an enormous about of FUN -- much more fun than some technically far superior maps. I played it on Normal Skill (just because I forgot the +skill on the command-line) but actually I'm happy with how that worked out. It felt much more like tearing a swathe through the hordes of evil than I think it would have done on a higher difficulty. I particularly enjoyed the penultimate big combat, with the spawning waves of death-knights, scrags, ogres and shamblers. So this is a 5/5 from me.

By the way, has anyone figure out how to get the rocket launcher at the very start? I assume there must BE a way, it would be too cruel to just leave it there as a tease.

spy Guest 15 March 2014, 12:17

By the way, has anyone figure out how to get the rocket launcher at the very start? I assume there must BE a way, it would be too cruel to just leave it there as a tease.

There's no chance to grab RL as far as i know, sorry

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 15 March 2014, 14:30

Awesome huge, bloody ambushs and somewhat very nice to look at. 5 stars!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 11 February 2015, 16:28

Having now played this three times on different difficulties, I can say: it's a great level. Just a whole lot of unsophisticated fun cutting through swathes of enemies and exploring a big, complex area.

There are two separate ways to go at the beginning, and they join up about a third of the way through, so unless you make a strictly unnecessary trip back to the start at some point, you'll miss a quarter of the game.

(I still haven't found a way to get the rocket-launcher, BTW., I've come close with grenade-jumping off the nearby rocks, but not close enough.)

Dymitry Guest 17 January 2016, 11:25

It can be done with a grenade jump (and you will get a "you're not supposed to be here" message). To do so, one has to be positioned across from the corner just to the right of the rear window (where the slope comes closest to the tower). There is a spot at a height around halway up the window where two slopes from the left and right come together and then drop down more steeply. Place a grenade right behind where the slopes converge.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 5 30 December 2017, 16:31

Really great map.

After the collapsed bridge in the beggining there are two paths to choose. If you don't come back and explore the other one, you'll lose a great deal. Maybe put some key locked doors to push players into going into both ways?

I don't like teletransporting enemies just to fill up the map. If it's a trap, expecially after you get a valuable item, it's ok. But otherwise, it feels cheap. And I don't know if it was intended, but sometimes they appear with no warning sound and right in your face.

Like everyone above, felt bad for not having a way to pick up the RL at the start. But, after completing the level, I think having a RL will spoil all the fun, since most hords are easy manageable with a grenade launcher, a RL would be OP.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in