Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bridges
Author:Jason Booth
Title:Bridges to the Highlands
Download:bridges.zip (775ea6463301922aab3e87ca9fc77b33)
Filesize:1042 Kilobytes
Release date:05.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
bridge.bsp895 KB05.11.1996
brhiland.bsp396 KB05.11.1996
bridges.txt3 KB05.11.1996
bridglnk.bsp123 KB30.10.1996
watrways.bsp710 KB05.11.1996
brstart.bsp318 KB30.10.1996

bridges.zip - Bridges to the Highlands

Three small, boxed/leaked, ugly Medieval/Wizard/ Basemix maps. Comes with a simple skill selection map and a pointless linking map.

Tags: small, mixtex, mini episode, dark, low ammo, tricks

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 1.7/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Hotwir3 24 November 2009, 18:17
Sure it's not very good, but this pack is not crap (i.e. as the ugly Tremors maps).
I enjoyed mostly "watrways.bsp".. was fun!
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 15 June 2014, 1:18

Well, what we can expect from beginner's maps, which were created as tests for quake engine to learn level editing? Of course, not much:
- brstart — funny idea with turrets, but as start level this map is too uncomfortable; 2/5
- bridglnk — really pointless, only two portals without any messages and tips; although, there is nice lava logo on wall; 2/5
- brhiland — WHAT IS THAT?! — looks to experimental for me; 1/5
- bridge — most playable from these maps, the only one I have actually done... but why it's so dark? And I've played it at night... 3/5
- watrways — too original for me... and also too dark. 2/5
Total score: 10/5=2

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 12 December 2015, 21:00

Bridges to the Highlands on The Quake Grave

I don't normally like to speak ill of maps because people are putting their time into them and hopefully learning to become better mappers. It's unfortunate that this pack is just not that great. I think there are 2 major problems here and one is the darkness of the maps. It's really difficult to see where you're going therefore making it difficult for you to progress. The other is the design voice/language. That is to say, when you build a map, you sort of want to communicate to the player, without actually saying it, how they should do things in your map. I felt this was all over the place.

As xDDGx pointed out above, in the first map you choose your difficulty, fair enough. Then the 2nd map sort of gives you an inkling as to what you're going to expect from the rest of this pack. It's dark and doesn't really give you a chance to get your bearings straight. I found myself scrambling for the exit and I randomly found it.

Then it's the waterways map. This map is the most fun as it had me sort of trying to figure out how to get to a good vantage point to take out the enemies. The problem is that it's super dark and the enemies basically all see you at once so you don't have a chance to plan your attack. It's one of those maps that you're frustrated with at first but then when you figure out how to do it, and it feels more rewarding. After that, you are in a room with 2 teleporters; one takes you to the next map, the other takes you...back to the waterways map. I found myself playing through waterways a few times before I got to proceed. This was very annoying! Why even do this?

The final map has you up really high on skinny platforms and after you take out the enemies, you have to jump on these tiny little specks and platform over to the exit. Why would you make someone platform on tiny little specks of environment? That's awful to do to the player!

I would not recommend this pack, there isn't much positive to take in. I feel as though the author maybe should've put all of these ideas into one map and added some lights.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 10 July 2017, 15:32

This mini episode has some of the trolliest Quake maps I've ever played, right from the get-go: The text file dares the player to try the map in nightmare, but once you find the supposed nightmare selection path, you're pitted against a horde of monsters, not the least of which being four shamblers.

It was actually kind of fun trying to beat the challenge of getting to choose nightmare, utilizing monster infighting as much as possible. The thing is, the map doesn't even expect you to make it without cheating, so once you get through the portal, you're thrown into a cage with you finally realizing the true purpose of those weird spike shooters: to punish you for being a dirty cheater (which I wasn't). :/

Then the trolling continues in the first proper map, where you have to deal with ornery stairs and are starved of ammo trying to survive enemies that ambush you from complete darkness, until you realize possibly too late you were supposed to avoid them in the first place. Being almost defenceless instills this feeling of panic, where you're desperately trying to find a way out. It's actually kind of cool; a little bit something different from your standard map.

The only architectural highlights would probably be the cool shadow casting lamps (probably because they were mostly the only things I could see in the first place!)

Come to think of it, I think the second proper map might have actually been my least favourite, maybe because it tried to be the most "normal" of the bunch, and failing at it: It was still kinda stingy on ammo and way too dark. The low ammo situation was still bearable, but the darkness ruined it for me.

Then comes that weird "bridge" level, the biggest troll of the bunch, where you very well could end up repeating the previous map for choosing the wrong teleporter. That's just stupid. >:C

I kinda liked the last level. For one, it had more light (or at least the illusion of more light) and it was quite unique-looking. It was also quite forgiving about falling down. Even though I was able to focus hard enough in that platforming part without failing at it, I think it still requires too much accuracy for being very enjoyable.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in