Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of btf2
Author:Rob Albin
Title:Bridge to Fire
Download:btf2.zip (5b34f6f9d5d0ed29c9a2c06e2c40f2a8)
Filesize:604 Kilobytes
Release date:03.02.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
btf2NormalSpirit152015-08-20
not 100% but finished

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
btf2.bsp1368 KB04.02.1997
btf2.txt3 KB03.02.1997

btf2.zip - Bridge to Fire

Medium to large Medieval map with a few other textures mixed in, and confusing progression. Barely average.

Tags: medium, large, medieval, traps, exploration, puzzles

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.5/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 19 August 2015, 18:25

I really like this. Lots of puzzle/discovery elements and complex with a lot of charme. I might have used too many "advanced" movement tricks (strafe jump, wall turning) but it did not make it worse. Highly recommended!

MikeTaylor Registered 20 August 2015, 10:20

Can you please explain what strafe-jumping and wall-turning are? Thanks!

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 20 August 2015, 16:34

Err, air control, not wall turning and probably circle jumping, not strafe jumping.

https://www.quaddicted.com/files/demos/btf2btf2normal2015-08-20Spirit_15.dz

1m30s circle jump 3m20 slope jump 9m30s using air control to turn

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 20 August 2015, 17:25

Wikipedia calls it strafe-jumping too, though: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strafe-jumping

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 20 August 2015, 17:27

Eh, forgot about markdown: Wikipedia on "Strafe-jumping".

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 7 July 2018, 12:13

The map looks visually quite good for the time. The brushwork and texturing are quite detailed and the map is interesting to explore. The combat is enjoyably challenging, and seems to encourage utilizing monster infighting, considering the somewhat limited supplies.

However, in terms of progression, it is a very confusing map, as stated in the description. The map has the player move to and fro and backtrack considerable distances, especially if you accidentally fall off the ledge for any reason.

The basic formula of the map seems to be throwing the player in a room, clear the enemies there and then find a hidden trigger to progress to the next area. At times I didn't know where to go and got stuck trying to find the required trigger, which felt like secret-hunting, because they were quite well hidden.

Speaking of secrets, there were a lot of places that felt like secrets but were not. I ended up finding only 1 out of the 4 official secrets.

To add to the confusion, sometimes the map had some misleading visual clues, like this one barrier post that normally would signify to a player that you can't go through it yet, when in fact, you were actually supposed to try to figure out a way how to just jump over it all along.

I also came across this one very cheap instadeath trap, that can be quite hard to notice. There I was, just minding my business, killing ogres and fiends, when I suddenly found myself dead on the floor. For a moment I was just dumbfounded, not knowing what had killed me. It was so out of the blue.

Overall, I didn't get stuck or confused long enough for it to severely detract from enjoying the other well executed elements of the map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in