Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of building
Author:Repus
Title:Building
Download:building.zip (366fe33258ff56c9635d4204431e05fe)
Filesize:2053 Kilobytes
Release date:13.05.2002
Homepage:
Additional Links: Ten Four
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
004.bsp1414 KB30.04.2002
005.bsp295 KB07.05.2002
002.bsp680 KB06.05.2002
003.bsp1034 KB06.05.2002
Building.bsp1447 KB03.05.2002
Building.txt2 KB13.05.2002

building.zip - Building

Mini-episode - a large brick building spanning across several maps which the player travels up and down trough. Mostly plain brick/mixed texture style with a somewhat maze-like and confusing layout. Barely average.

Tags: episode, large, bricks

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.6/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Repus 21 March 2009, 10:40
I am surprised to see poor rating for my creation after such a good review at Ten Four. I spent nearly a year making this (this was my first level). Well, people have different opinions.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 2 13 September 2012, 20:30
Well, the map isn't bad, but here its rated compared to the rest of them, and, its only highlights are the layout and the originality, the rest (architecture, gameplay, theme, ambient, ...) are poor to average. The idea is good, but it needs more work.
KommissarReb (SW12) Guest 3 March 2015, 12:27

Can't figure out how to beat this level. I also found a leak in the map where you can go into the rock wall and fall outside.

LeopolD Guest 4 March 2015, 17:50

Nice map, enjoyed it, some good ideas implemented here!

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 15 November 2016, 2:05

some really cool and creative ideas in this one.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 4 December 2017, 0:36

A lot of creativity indeed, but also a lot of mistakes. The brushwork is poor even for the time, and the texture usage is often strange or wrong (e.g. using door textures on walls). Gameplay is mostly ok but there are some mistakes in that department too. The first map is a bit confusing at times, for example I didn't figure out what "bars" were lifted without noclipping around, since they are accessible only via a somewhat hidden lift, and the nailgun would be easy to miss I think. The buttons in the prison cells of the 3rd map can all be pressed multiple times, so you don't have to find them all (I exploited that to avoid the vore, to be honest).

There's more I could go into, but I won't.

That said, there are enough cool ideas here that make up for the bad aspects and lack of polish. I especially liked the boat at the end of the set, though there are drawbacks even there (the sides of the boat are just high enough that you can't use the LG without hopping out, for example). I genuinely hope that Repus, who is back and commenting on maps, finds the time and inspiration to make new maps.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in