Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of catatonic
Author:RickyT23
Title:Catatonic Fits of Despair
Download:catatonic.zip (61d17df77337ec7ac6f713f74a50996b)
Filesize:2629 Kilobytes
Release date:17.08.2012
Homepage:http://www.rickyt23.com
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
catatonic.bsp4511 KB17.08.2012
catatonic.lit3635 KB17.08.2012
catatonic.txt1 KB17.08.2012

catatonic.zip - Catatonic Fits of Despair

Medium-sized spacious metal/runic-style fortress.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits (fog support recommended).


Tags: medium, metal, fog, dark, big, hordes

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.4/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Aen 17 August 2012, 21:18
Excellent map.
Flem Guest 19 August 2012, 9:37
This felt very much like painkiller to me. It has no sense of purpose and just many monster hordes. I expected more from RickyT23.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 20 August 2012, 14:24
Played on nightmare. The difficulty was OK, except that the first room seems to be the hardest one. The architecture was average and the layout was nice, but this map its only for killing hordes. I liked the positioning of secrets, but i found that the quakedmgs were worthless where they are found.

Btw, when you first go to the gold door you are teleported to the same place and it give me an error, but it doesn't affect the game-play.
RickyT23 Guest 22 August 2012, 12:46
Heh - thanks for commenting on my map everyone. This map wasn't meant to be anything serious, I just had a bit of fun making it for a couple of weeks this summer :) I'm glad people enjoyed it:)
Phlippy Registered, rated this a 4 30 August 2012, 17:21
Great map, especially on hard and nightmare. Cannot for the life in us (play coop) find the way of opening the secret with a quad behind it near the start. Good work though Ricky. Add some coop starts next time though please, its a two second job!
dehlor Guest 8 September 2012, 23:04
..looks very enjoyable !
I'll play it asap..
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 23 July 2014, 18:07

Well, I've thoroughly enjoyed this map every time I've played it -- at least three times now. It's always fun to blast through hordes of enemies when ammo and armour are plentiful -- though it would have been even more fun if I'd had explosives earlier. I never did find a rocket launcher, and the grenades came only very late in the game, after the silver key. Mind you, I only found two secrets out of six, so I assume they're probably there to be had by more observant players.

My only real gameplay gripe is that this map suffers more than most from the problem of running out of ammo at the start and having way more than you need later on. It's a real shame: it makes the start a grind, and the ending a cruise.

For that reason, and because as others have noted the building is a bit blocky, I can't award it a full five stars. But it's certainly among my favourite four-star maps.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in