Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cha-gh
Author:Tyler McNamee
Title:Cha Gheill
Download:cha-gh.zip (f6d32e59ba82d4c68647d815544d8c89)
Filesize:882 Kilobytes
Release date:04.05.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
cha-gh.bsp1696 KB04.05.1997
cgstart.bsp214 KB04.05.1997
cha-gh.txt2 KB04.05.1997

cha-gh.zip

Cha Gheill

Large Wizard map with three linear 'arms' around a kind of hub. Comes with a simple skill selection map.

Tags: large, wizard, hub, start, medium, metal, puzzle, traps, dm

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.6/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
FredBezies Registered, rated this a 3 28 August 2016, 16:41

Not too bad for a 1997 map. Maybe a little to "squary" sometimes. Some nice traps.

pmk Guest 9 February 2019, 3:31

Decent quake map for its time that is better than the author's first release. Architecture of the level is too basic and could have used more detail. Combat within the map is very engaging and intense. I would recommend downloading this map if you are interested in crude, and early built quake maps and would give this map a three out of five rating.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 4 May 2019, 8:00

While the map is blocky and arguably ugly, its gameplay is half-decent. The encounters are varying enough throughout the map's fairly long duration and the secrets were functional and pretty well balanced, though maybe a bit on the easy side to discover.

The rooms are sometimes maybe a bit too spacious, though, giving the player ample room to evade enemy knights and fiends. One the other hand, the ample space is kind of balanced out with darkness where the enemies can hide and surprise the player. I think I would've appreciated a little bit more light.

I think one of the largest gameplay hiccups would be towards the end, where the player can view his enemies from afar and snipe them with the rocket launcher, while at the same time having to deal with a meddlesome door that keeps closing in between. Perhaps that was one of the intended purposes of the door: to make sniping more difficult. Either way, it didn't quite work in my book.

Overall, it was a pretty fun flawed map, and for that I think I could rate it 2,5/5. (At the time of writing this review, the average rating is 2,8 so I'll round my rating down to 2/5.)

Borax Man Registered, rated this a 3 30 September 2019, 15:30

The author has definitely improved their skills from their previous release. While the build is still somewhat simple, even for a 1997 map, and it has some rookie errors, there has clearly been thought and effort put into the gameplay.

This level plays quite a bit better than it looks.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in