Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of church
Author:Anders Gustafsson
Title:Church
Download:church.zip (3ebeb5c16fde825f719e02671596ffd6)
Filesize:423 Kilobytes
Release date:22.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
CHURCH.TXT1 KB22.11.1996
church.bsp961 KB22.11.1996

church.zip - Church

Small plain Medieval/brick map. A deathmatch level with monsters.

Note: This map does not have an exit.


Tags: small, medieval, blue, brick, no exit, dm

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.1/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 23 April 2014, 4:52

This map is not bad at all for an early one, it's easy to navigate and has a custom built casket in it but I do have one huge gripe with it; The End... or lack thereof. Watch me play it here: Church on The Quake Grave

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 23 April 2014, 12:29

Hmm, I don't know, ArrrCee... There is of course no accounting for taste and I respect your opinion, but not having an exit is a pretty damning flaw in my book. If a "crap" map is one that is "obviously unplayable because of critical errors or absurd construction", then is a map you cannot finish because a crucial bit has been left out not automatically worth 1/5 -- or if it is otherwise really, really special, at most 2/5? (I have actually often wondered about this.)

The casket you mention does look fairly nice, but the rest, though perhaps not terrible, is not very exiting. As for gameplay, it's not just that there is no exit trigger, there is also no logical exit (i.e. no point where you feel like you have reached the end of the map) and hence no real sense of progression. Monster placement feels haphazard. The readme says it supports up to 8 players in deathmatch -- so perhaps that was what the author focused on, which could explain why the map comes across as mediocre and unfinished in single player.

No offence meant to the author; I appreciate every single custom Quake map, including the ones I do not personally like. And no offence meant to you, Arrrcee. As I said, I respect your opinion, even though I respectfully disagree.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 24 April 2014, 17:57

That's ok Icantthinkof, I think you're pretty much correct on most fronts there! The map, while not the most exciting, is pretty competent though. It runs fine, it has secrets and monsters and an interesting layout. I mean really, the big issue is the missing exit. I had hopes that someone had found a secret exit but I guess this just isn't the case. =/

If you watch my video, I think the part where the elevator lifts you up and you can drop in the casket, I thought that was going to be the exit.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 19 June 2014, 5:23

Too cubish for me. And there's no exit, anyone can check it easily: just drag'n'drop .bsp file to Notepad, Ctrl+F, enter "triggerchangelevel". If there's no any triggerchangelevel, then there's no exit.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 19 June 2014, 5:25

Forgot about Markdown styling. It should be "trigger_changelevel".

1996 Guest 16 March 2015, 23:20

horrible map! Anyway the author deserves respect because "Area51" and "Eviltown" are actually good :)

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 11 October 2017, 20:15

Unfortunately the brushwork and texturing are kind of boring and bland in this one, which makes the rooms feel that much emptier. Not even the somewhat large amount of monsters helps liven up the place quite enough to brush off that emptiness. I think the casket room is kind of nice and detailed, though.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in