Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cjhsp1
Author:Chris Houston, 'Simulacrum'
Title:The Katagean Redoubt
Download:cjhsp1.zip (544b423003c73bfc7e4f20256bf1fceb)
Filesize:1464 Kilobytes
Release date:04.03.2008
Homepage:
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
cjhsp1.bsp3547 KB04.03.2008
cjhsp1.txt4 KB04.03.2008

cjhsp1.zip - The Katagean Redoubt

A big, interconnected, green-wizardish map with well thought-out secrets.

Tags: wizard, large, green, interconnectivity

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JFH 5 August 2008, 11:48
Cannot save game. Get error message ERROR: Couldn't open. Playing Joequake-gl.exe and have had some trouble with Joequake before where (on XP) I'm unable to play some of these add-on levels and mods due to a "not enough RAM, try using -mem 32 at the command line." This is not the problem in this case but any ideas?
JFH 5 August 2008, 11:56
Note regarding last message: tried Fitzquake080 to no avail, GLQuake, etc. Still unable to save game. Also have thought of upping winmem to a ridiculous amount (-winmem 110000 at the command line) regarding problem #2 and that has worked on a couple of occasions, but not every or all the time. Anyway, will have to tough it out from start to finish playing skill level 3.

Wish me some fraggin' luck!

JFH
Spirit, rated this a 5 5 August 2008, 12:38
For OpenGL engines the memory switch is most often -heapsize (in Bytes). So for example "-heapsize 128000" would make it use 128MB of RAM.
JFH 5 August 2008, 13:02
Thanks, Spirit. I forgot and I meant heapsize. Seems to me for the longest time on some of the really old levels they (the level building guys) would use arbitrary numbers at times like
-heapsize 131000 or what not. I didn't know it referred to Bytes but that makes sense. I remember some of the old games saying -heapsize 16000 or 48000 but I distinctly remember some being somewhat arbitrary, like 121789 or something like that. Anyhow, thanks.

Still frikkin' fraggin'!

JFH
Daz, rated this a 5 19 December 2011, 1:43
video playthrough - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqdK6IEHbhc
Drew 15 August 2012, 2:36
An excellent map with lots of great combat.
It's not the best with regards to looks. Apollo takes obvious inspiration from CZG03 - Ceremonial Circles, but without CZG's (arguably) unparalleled skill with regards to elegantly simple and balanced blockiness.
Still - it looks as good and often much better than many classic quake levels, and it consistently plays better than many new ones. I mentioned CZG before, but ELEK also comes to mind, with regards to structures (think DARKNESS and GOLGOTHA) and also regarding the solid, Quakey gameplay. The author doesn't shy away from bigger monsters, and does a great job employing ambushes in several spots with smaller ones as well. In fact, the flow is one aspect of this level which is excellent. There are many surprises and teleport ambushes (though rarely of the *RIGHT BEHIND YOU!* kind). At times it reminds me of SPACEGODS RUNE. These ambushes are consistently awesome on hard, and every secret will come in handy.
Luckily, secrets are plentiful, and come in quite handily (armour isn't accessed for quite some time without discovering one, for example), but are perhaps less well thought-out than Spirit's write up suggests. Most of them are quite easy to spot, and I found almost all on my first playthrough. Personally, I like there to be a mix of very easy, medium and quite difficult secrets (a la Than's maps)in a map, since it enriches replayability.
Another small complaint - I kind of wish the DBL shotgun had been introduced a *tiny* bit earlier.
This might make this map sound subpar in some way. But it absolutely isn't. It's a great map which will give you 15-20 minutes of very solid, *proper* quake action in a thoroughly quakey setting.
FifthElephant Guest 12 January 2013, 22:19
This is a fun map, I agree with some of the sentiments here in regards to getting the super shotgun earlier. Other than that though, great gameplay and looks really nice!
mmm Registered, rated this a 5 2 July 2013, 18:36

Excellent stuff, large and full of all sorts of monsters. As usual, only after the epic last battle I've found a secret with quad and ammo to help me out.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 9 December 2013, 0:28

great map! i noticed that my system is darker than the screenshot.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 10 December 2013, 11:28

Yes, I remember this one being rather a jolly romp. Replaying now on lower difficulty, and having a great time just blasting through it. 5/5 for what it is.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 1 August 2014, 16:39

Just replayed on Hard. All kills, but missed a few secrets, which is the right way round! Never found a quad, but I did find the crucial secret for the last arena combat, to get the elevator up to the teleporter. Lots of fun.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 1 August 2014, 16:41

I just noticed that this seems to be the author's only map -- unless Chris Houston 'Simulacrum' is the same person as the Chris "Apollo" Houston who made ch1sp1 seven years earlier. A shame we never got to see Simulacrum develop.

Doc_Holliday Registered 22 June 2016, 10:35

Do you mean Kilobytes Spirit? :)

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 9 September 2016, 13:19

Quite nice for its time with a little bit of revisiting previous areas from different directions and fitting atmosphere. Lots of retired material like monsters teleporting behind you when you grab a key item and the nailgun/shotgun are focused on for way too long. An earlier (non-secret) SSG would have helped pacing. I think the map relies a bit too much on Shamblers for roadblocks but still a fun time!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in