Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of climb
Author:Glenn Ancheta
Title:The Climb
Download:climb.zip (dadd557e913d6c87755d0b80e701ee62)
Filesize:155 Kilobytes
Release date:16.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
CLIMB.TXT3 KB16.10.1996
CLIMB.BSP380 KB15.10.1996

climb.zip - The Climb

Very small and plain vertical map with a few ogres. Pointless.

Tags: small, wizard, vertical

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 1.8/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 4 December 2014, 20:12

I am really surprised Crash liked this so much. I suppose most releases from 1996 can be forgiven for being a little ugly (the sloping walkway in particular features some very suspect brushwork), but here the author also saw fit to use ogres as the only monster. Along with the very limited selection of textures, this was perhaps meant to be minimalist. Sadly it just makes for a really boring map.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 1 7 January 2015, 2:11

Very ugly and bland map visually. The gameplay is very confusing due to all the random doors opening up without telling you. All eighteen enemies are ogres. Not worth playing at all. 1/5

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 31 August 2015, 15:37

The Climb on The Quake Grave

The Climb feels like there just wasn't a whole lot of effort put forth. All of the enemies are ogres, weird choices for quad and ring of shadows placement (end of level?), doors are seemingly random with how the open and where ogres are cming from next, little on the boring boxy side of things...I think it's unfortunate that Glenn ended on this note because his first few maps were really showing him making progress with his skills. His last 2 maps, Titerope and then The Climb kind of feel like a step backwards.

It's not awful but I don't think this one is a good one to check out.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 2 27 September 2016, 11:18

I would call this map entirely awful if the enemies weren't ogres, and were instead something annoying like fiends or vores. As it is, it is kind of fun to fight your way through, even if it is butt-ugly and confusing at times.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 3 July 2017, 23:22

In terms of gameplay, I'd say it's one of Ancheta's best maps, competing with Titerope for the number one standing. Not that his maps can compete that well with other authors' maps, mind you.

Too bad the powerups come up way too late, and especially the Ring of Shadows seems to be completely useless, because it's highly likely you've aggroed all the ogres by the time you pick it up.

The architecture of the central pillar saves this map from being completely dull in terms of looks.

pmk Guest 17 October 2018, 1:16

Personally, I was very bored playing with this 1996 quake map especially with all the enemies being ogres and the architecture of the map being dull and plain looking. I would not recommend playing this map and give it a one out of five rating.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in