Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cmc
Author:JPL
Title:Cheyenne Mountain Complex
Download:cmc.zip (cf22718ddd7027f4a1924ca293de72f7)
Filesize:1970 Kilobytes
Release date:20.11.2004
Homepage:http://lambert.jeanphilippe.free.fr
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
CMC.bsp4299 KB22.11.2004
CMC.txt3 KB21.11.2004
CMC.lit1759 KB22.11.2004

cmc.zip - Cheyenne Mountain Complex

Large underground base map with some Quake2 textures.

Tags: base, large, underground, textures, industrial

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
felch 11 January 2010, 7:10
booooooring
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 1 March 2014, 1:55

tough combat here and there. nice size map. ammo/health plentiful. 'SKILL 1'

possible spoiler i suggest saving the secret quad until the gold key is used.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 21 November 2014, 1:24

Overall a very solid industrial/base map, with a fairly realistic feel to it. The curved concrete ceilings are nice, as are the massive dimensions and the buttons that clearly do something.

Some parts are a little plain and create the impression of a really talented mapper still finding their feet: this map is already streets ahead of Hatchepsout: The Hell Temple, but not yet in the same league as the superb Castle of the Dark Ages (JPL's next release after this one). Coloured lighting is thankfully toned down/used with better judgment than in Hatchepsout..

Combat is brutally tough (especially initially, but also later on). Taking less obvious routes and sniping can make things easier, but I would still say that this borders on overly hard: Grunts and enforcers might be some of the weakest monsters, but en masse they pulverise the player pretty quickly. The final battle is ironically much easier than the rest of the map, thanks to a generously provided Quad Damage.

3 plus; recommended (to players who either have fast reflexes or do not mind dying a lot).

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 25 November 2014, 12:15

Finished on hard with 216/216 kills and 3/4 secrets. This map falls into three traps that I hate: too hard early but easier later on; scenery bugs that mean you get stuck on ramps; and slooow-moving scenery (a three-storey lift in this case) that you have to wait around for.

Despite all this, I've awarded four stars because it's a solid, brutal experience in an area whose geography becomes gradually apparent as you progress, and because of the perfectly judged endgame. (I finished on hour hit-points.) This feels like the work of someone who still had a long way to go on his technical skills, but who already had a great feel for actual gameplay -- which is the right way round to be.

So my trawl through JPL history is going well, and if Icantthinkofanickname's comment is to be trusted, about to get even better as I move on to Castle of The Dark Ages.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 3 16 August 2015, 16:14

Better than I remembered. Is there a term for the strictly symmetric monster placement? =)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 8 September 2016, 12:41

Replayed this, and loved it. The simple brutality of especially the opening stages has a very Doom-like feel. In retrospect, I consider this the best of JPL's maps. Later ones look much better, but none of them play as well as this.

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 4 6 May 2018, 2:45

Overall real nice map. Was a good challenge overall.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in