Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of contract
Author:Kell
Title:Contract Revoked
Download:contract.zip (bec2484604d56d005c476e3460d981a7)
Filesize:7073 Kilobytes
Release date:15.06.2002
Homepage:http://kell.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
contract.html14 KB31.08.2004
pak0.pak18962 KB15.06.2002

contract.zip - Contract Revoked

Small episode consisting of 4 levels and a start map, with knave textures, some modified models and sounds.

Tags: knave, episode, kell, chthon, classic, medium, mustplay, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 38 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Qmaster, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 16:57
Definitely an all-time classic! This was one of the first levels I played from Quaddicted, and I loved every minute of it! The secret areas are simply awesome! I'm in the middle of finishing up my own episode based off of this level's textures and theme.
onetruepurple, rated this a 5 3 November 2011, 0:17
A strongly engaging and immersive journey, yet ultimately only a glimpse into the vast universe that is Kell's idea of what is Quake. The gunplay is relentless, the secrets are tantalising, the little touches like the custom menu sounds and subtle reskins are excellent. Along with ikblue and Rubicon (2) this constitutes its own tier of Quake mapping.
Fr3n Guest, rated this a 5 17 November 2012, 17:30
This whole unit is incredible, especially the last (semi-secret) map. Track down the runes - you will not regret it.
boink182 Guest 20 December 2013, 2:20

utterly fantastic, one of my favorites! interesting layouts, great gameplay, and i love the tastefully satanic vibe.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 14:17

These levels look amazing, and especially when comparing them to the successor, The Lost Chapters, you are actually able to beat them. Secrets are tricky to find, locations are enjoyable to explore (the huge library as seen on the screenshot alone is something I have rarely seen before in Quake) and fights are challenging. Must-have!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 6 February 2014, 14:47

Hard to believe this is twelve years old! As best I remember, this was a revolution: the first Quake map ever to look sensational. I could quibble with aspects of the gameplay, which at times can feel a bit mean and arbitrary, but that would be churlish. Because what this level is all about is atmosphere, and it has it by the shedload. A true classic, and well worth 5/5.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 15 February 2014, 17:36

i just finished replaying this. what a fabulous episode. some tough combat. lots of great secrets! i'll have to replay to find the ones i missed.

PuLSaR Registered, rated this a 5 25 October 2015, 20:30

Played it today once again. I can hardly descibe how awesome it is, though it is 10+ years old now. The visuals, the gameplay, the layout - all is great. And tons of secrets everywhere for those who want to explore everything.

I want Kell to return to quake mapping and give us another awesome HPL inspired map/edisode.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 26 October 2015, 12:24

Thinking more about Contract Revoked, I am tempted to call it the Sergeant Pepper of Q1SP mapping. While you can argue that it's flawed in places, that its quality is uneven and that subsequent work has surpassed it, it's still the case that it stuck a marker in the ground and said "OK, suckers, this is what you have to deal with now". In the years since CR, the atmosphere and simple beauty of Quake levels have moved up a whole level -- because this pack showed what was possible. Kell, I salute you!

sergeant piper Guest 26 October 2015, 20:13

it was nearly 20 years ago today, kell told the mappers how to map!

awesome til this day.

mb13 Registered, rated this a 5 20 May 2016, 3:37

Very hard, but very good. Awesome atmosphere.

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 4 29 January 2017, 23:07

Awesome stuff...except for yet another Chthon fight. It's less that Chthon's inherently awful (flawed yet redeemable, a la nesp09, or Terra E1M5) and more that I'd rather skip it to play the secret map instead. Everything else is amazing, from its definitive theme to tough battles and secrets.

Atzuras Guest 26 March 2017, 20:15

I cannot belive this pak is 15 years old. Now at 2017, it still can fight to be an all-time classic for its atractive visual Design, clever gameplay, monster placement and enchanted architectures. It just overkills 90% of all the good Quake maps ever done. All with classic monsters , enhancements, weapons and tradicional gameplay from q1. Must play, Must find all the runes.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 5 7 July 2017, 15:48

Contract Revoked on The Quake Grave

I don't really have much of a critique for Contract Revoked because it's really well done! It's pretty to look at, really well paced, it's still pretty challenging (at least for me) and offers a lot of secrets for those who want to hunt them down. For me, it was an episode that was challenging in different situations; situations I didn't think I could make it through but surprised myself by being able to beat the odds.

Another compliment I can give it is the way the boss was handled, as it really feels like something that should've been in the original game. That is to say, I realized how easy the boss is in Quake 1 when you're challenged with this version of it. It's an improvement, for sure.

I definitely recommend checking it out!

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 4 31 July 2017, 8:01

I can't believe I forgot to rate this!

Hey ArrrCee, did you just play this as a warm-up to the upcoming jam 9?

FacilisDK Registered 10 November 2018, 22:25

Just had another run at these maps. Age like fine wine :)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in