Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of contract_2
Author:Serge Jaeken
Title:The Contract
Download:contract_2.zip (d688e8dafe5440c8b421ed3bd3606852)
Filesize:5064 Kilobytes
Release date:08.07.2017
Homepage:https://sites.google.com/site/sergejaeken/
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
contractNightmare0h17m00sdeath1126662018-03-05

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
changelog.txt1 KB08.07.2017
contract/gfx/env/purplepeopleeater_bk.tga475 KB20.08.2003
contract/gfx/env/purplepeopleeater_dn.tga770 KB20.08.2003
contract/gfx/env/purplepeopleeater_ft.tga477 KB20.08.2003
contract/gfx/env/purplepeopleeater_lf.tga478 KB20.08.2003
contract/gfx/env/purplepeopleeater_rt.tga468 KB20.08.2003
contract/gfx/env/purplepeopleeater_up.tga113 KB20.08.2003
contract/maps/contract.bsp5724 KB27.06.2017
contract/maps/contract.lit1888 KB27.06.2017
contract/maps/intro.bsp746 KB26.06.2017
contract/maps/intro.lit161 KB26.06.2017
readme.rtf3 KB08.07.2017

contract_2.zip - The Contract

Medium-sized Knave-style flying cathedral with a courtyard and a crypt area. It comes with a start map and a custom skybox.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, knave, church, cathedral, crypt, tomb, spacemap, skybox, limits

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 1 September 2017, 7:12

Great map I think. The gameplay situations are mostly pretty distinctive and memorable (the platforming near the beginning might annoy some but a well-placed Ring of Shadows secret makes that part easier). The surreal touches to the design are great, and the purple sky brings it all together to give this floating fantasy castle a distinctive atmosphere compared to a lot of other knave maps. This was also a strength of many maps in the Knave Jam, but it's good to have another!

Apparently the author is working on an Unreal map. I have played much custom Unreal SP content but I'll probably give that one a shot when it's finished.

qekko Registered, rated this a 5 28 October 2017, 15:45

Runestones, impossible water, purple sky and upside-down burial ground tells about the use of black magic with additional knave textures. It is like wizards are using nasty tricks against you, making you go through strangely geometrical buildings with old grey stone, libraries, enemy's fortresses with levitating oddly turned cemeteries, zombie pits, and enormous, Serious Sam -style church of the oldest one. Maybe behind all of this madness is Shub-Niggurath itself.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 27 November 2017, 20:30

The Contract on The Quake Grave

The first tribute map released this year for the Contract Revoked tribute season. I'm not sure why this wasn't included in the actual map pack released for the tribute, but hey, the more maps the merrier, right?

I had a great time in this map, it was fun and offered a fun and weird little experience. I think it has good communication with the player as to what to do and where to go next. I didn't really have any issues with it until the final room. I've always felt a little weird about big ol' rooms with lots of enemies agroing. Despite that, this room was fun to try and survive anyway. looking forward to more Serge!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 9 January 2018, 10:38

Another astonishing debut map, this one with a nice sense of progression through four well-defined areas. Breaking the runes to get through the door was a nice new mechanic in the first area (although having the runes simply vanish is a little unspectacular). Then there's the small library area leading to the silver-key door, then a big outdoor courtyard where it's very easy to get yourself killed, and finally the church with its crypt. I found ammo conservation a real problem in the courtyard and church, but that if anything made the game more fun rather than less. I son't know if I would have made it without the quad.

Anyway, I finished with 111 of the 118 kills (though maybe Shub at the end counts for another one?) and 5 of the 6 secrets. Looking forward to seeing what Serge Jaeken does next!

death112 Registered, rated this a 3 5 March 2018, 21:23

Not to shabby. There is some sloppy enemy placement tho. For example if you enter the courtyard those vores on the trees will only hit themselves. So you can pretty much run around there freely, having only to worry about the ogres.

Also in the cathedral you've got teleporters taking you up, but nothing that'd safely bring you down again. That's an oversight for the people who play on Nightmare difficulty. Can't really agree with these long range Shamblers either. The cathedral area is to spacy overall

Keep up the good work though. I like that you have to proceed throught water areas. Collecting runes instead of a key to unlock a door also pretty neato. Overall fitting texture placements.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in