Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cope
Author:Ed Cope
Title:Cope's first
Download:cope.zip (a83080db95bbabeacaddffd5f0cc2a0f)
Filesize:281 Kilobytes
Release date:02.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Geniac's Playlist
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
COPE.TXT3 KB02.10.1996
COPE.BSP654 KB02.10.1996

cope.zip - Cope's first

Small base map with many unaligned textures.

Tags: small, base

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.4/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 12 June 2014, 15:24

I don't think this is a "poor" map, it's better than "cult". Yes, there are some problems like wrong texturing in some places, but I even didn't noticed it when have played the map at first time. Also, there is no secret rooms. But gameplay and general level design is good.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 16 August 2014, 22:00

This isn't bad at all. In fact, I would say it's pretty good for a first attempt from 1996. There are some places you can go that you don't need to, which is always a nice aspect. I wish there were some secrets though. The combat is also decent, nothing great but not bad. If you're bored, go ahead and play this one.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 13 October 2014, 15:32

Cope's First on The Quake Grave

I'd have to agree, this is a good map for someone just starting out.

The lips of the edges of the water areas really got me because I'm used to jumping out of the water at the edge. Some of the edges on this one will just let you walk on out of them. This creates this weird situation (at least for me) where you feel stuck in the water and can't get out. There are a few texture issues as well, but most of my complaints are pretty nitpicky as the level has good flow to it. The challenge was probably there in 1996 but by todays standards, this isn't too hard.

Definitely one to check out if you want to see a pretty good first map form a new author.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 2 6 January 2015, 13:21

It's a small base map from '96, and for that, it's not too bad. It's a lot better than some others I've played, and pretty alright for a first attempt. Could've used a few more enemies and some textures were misaligned though. 2/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 2 9 July 2015, 22:06

A short and straightforward map with some passable visuals and just a touch of combat. Not terrible for a first map, but not much else to speak of.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 2 July 2017, 13:58

A fun little first map for 1996.

It was hard to choose between 2 and 3, taking all the factors into consideration, but I'd say the sloppy texture alignment in some very visible spots and the lack of secrets settled it for me: 2/5.

JMP Registered, rated this a 2 21 July 2017, 17:02

Echoing what Esrael says above, I had a hard time rating this. Actually, maps like this make me wish I could give half stars, because it's not a 2 (there are no major flaws) but not quite a 3 either (it's as crude as the typical '96/'97 map, but much smaller than most). The best part is the map is its layout, which includes some rooms that aren't necessary to complete the level but are worth visiting anyway.

JMP Registered, rated this a 2 21 July 2017, 17:05

Er, that should read, "The best part OF the map is its layout..."

pmk Guest 10 October 2018, 19:13

Well built base level that is not very memorable and has a very short gameplay time to complete. Wouldn't recommend playing through as their are better quake maps on the internet to download. Although i would give this map a two out of five rating since it is well built map despite it being the developer's first time crafting a level for the quake modding community.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in