Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of crucible
Author:Gyro Gearloose
Title:The Crucible
Download:crucible.zip (494907786b29ed568796f575035b5a37)
Filesize:447 Kilobytes
Release date:02.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
CRUCIBLE.BSP1000 KB02.10.1996
CRUCIBLE.TXT9 KB02.10.1996

crucible.zip - The Crucible

Medium sized Metal fortress.

Tags: metal, medium, dm

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit 22 October 2009, 23:40
Surprisingly nice twist at the end. Good otherworldly feel in it.
Ankh, rated this a 3 8 April 2010, 21:12
Nice layout. Lot's of possible routes with use of trickjumping.
Fr3n Registered, rated this a 2 9 December 2012, 4:03
gotta say I found it completely useless.
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 12 June 2014, 15:27

Nice map, I didn't like only too primitive outdoor.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 26 September 2014, 18:15

I really liked this one. I think this might be one of the better maps from 1996. The map offers a couple different approaches to finding your way around and has a pretty good challenge as well. I got stuck a couple times...and by stuck I mean literally stuck. Once on geometry and once because it seemed to me there was no way out? I could be wrong. You be the judge though: The Crucible on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 3 December 2014, 22:12

I couldn't find a way out on that part either, and if that's just what happens there, it's horrible design. Apart from that though, pretty fun level. I like the combat because there are often multiple ways of disposing of enemies, and I also like the creative use of teleporters at the end. Although getting the rocket launcher at the end is pretty pointless, at that point all there was left for me was a shambler. Overall it's a nice level, especially for 1996.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 4 6 January 2015, 13:46

This is really good for a '96 level, it's got a nice metal aesthetic and the gameplay is mostly good (mostly because I couldn't figure out how to get out of one part, and nobody else seemed to be able to either). There's a nice variety of enemies (both tech and fantasy) and I enjoyed exploring the map as well. The ending has a really cool mechanic involving teleporters, though giving the player the rocket launcher at that point is pretty much pointless, and I kinda wish there was a larger end battle. Overall, it's worth a playthrough. 4/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 4 9 July 2015, 22:40

A fast and frantic level with intense combat, good flow and a few cool features. The lighting and architecture were quite nice as well. Overall one of the better and well-paced maps I've played from the early Quake days.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 10 July 2015, 14:19

I found this annoyingly arbitrary, and the cage trap near the beginning was just awful. I can't award more than two stars, even in the context of 1996. (You can get the rocket-launcher early by grenade-jumping to it, by the way.)

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 2 July 2017, 16:07

Some pretty cool ideas on offer here, for both single player and deathmatch. Not sure how they'd work on dm, though; didn't try. I especially liked how to get to the red armor secret.

Otherwise I'd gladly rate this map 4/5 but small oversights piled up a little bit too much: dogs not being able to reach you because of geometry, a flight of stairs you have to jump to ascend and most frustratingly, slow elevators.

Desetler Registered, rated this a 3 21 February 2018, 2:42

I don't agree with all these positive reviews, cuz i didn't enjoy the map at all. Design is dull, fighting is routine, one secret is hard to reach, but so trivial. Last chamber challenge is excessive and leaves you with only one thought - never coming again! 3 out of 5 distraught Shamblers.

pmk Guest 10 October 2018, 19:04

I enjoyed playing through this metal themed map from 1996. Interesting secrets, well constructed architecture, and challenging gameplay that make this map memorable from the beginning era of custom quake level design. Would recommend playing through as i give this map a three out of five rating.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in