Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dark
Author:Unknown
Title:Dark Hell
Download:dark.zip (64aaf5c600fe8a1c9cff10b93d2a8b41)
Filesize:397 Kilobytes
Release date:14.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
DARK.BSP937 KB14.10.1996

dark.zip - Dark Hell

Small wizard level.
OKish, but nothing special.


Tags: small, wizard, snow, arena

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 20 February 2014, 11:08

i thought the 'snow' was interesting.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 29 September 2014, 20:05

I would've expected it to be darker and more hellish with such an imposing name but it's a pretty good map with decent flow to it. Probably worth playing through once. Now, if I could find out why this "gold key" building by the snow (ash?) is so important... Dark Hell on The Quake Grave

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 2 7 January 2015, 1:45

Very short and easy, not very visually pleasing. I liked the snow part, it was really cool for 1996. Very empty and underpopulated, could've used a lot more enemies. Also, I was hoping for an end battle, maybe a shambler or a vore or something. Not a very good map, but at least it's more consistent than most of 1996. 2/5

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 6 February 2017, 1:56

Pretty good for 1996. The snow was a nice novelty, but overall the map isn't very innovative--the layout and combat both felt very Doom-like to me.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 3 July 2017, 21:18

I liked this map! The bars around the arena allow the player to get a glimpse of what's to come elsewhere in the map, keeping the player invested in exploring further.

As the map name implies, it has an atmospheric dark lighting going with it. The darkness also conveniently conceals some of the really bland looking areas, so the blandness wasn't painfully obvious.

If a little bit more effort had been put on polishing the map's aesthetics, I would have gladly rated this 4/5, but as it stands, I give it a proud 3+/5.

pmk Guest 16 October 2018, 1:37

Pretty basic 1996 quake map that is decently designed. Little confused as to why there was snow in this map but it was a well created custom texture that the author used to blend in with the rest of the map's environment. Combat could of been more engaging and populated with more monsters throughout the map. Overall a decent quake map but not really memorable as it get's a two out of five rating from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in