Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dark04b
Author:Ray
Title:Dark 0.4 beta deathmatch maps for Quake
Download:dark04b.zip (352a4865efc57667de55f603361e3cc9)
Filesize:976 Kilobytes
Release date:02.12.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
DARK04B.TXT4 KB02.12.1996
DARKBASE.BSP1379 KB29.11.1996
DARKHALL.BSP924 KB01.12.1996

dark04b.zip - Dark 0.4 beta deathmatch maps for Quake

Two small beta maps, meant for Deathmatch but with monsters built in for some Singleplayer fun. darkbase.bsp - Dark Base: A quite non-linear base map. darkhall.bsp - Dark Hall: As non-linear id metal map. Nicely built.

Tags: base, metal, small, dm

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Drew, rated this a 3 9 August 2012, 19:32
I like the style of these maps. very impressive for the release date. Gameplay is not amazing - could have used a few more monsters in each map, I thought. As spirit mentioned, nice and non-linear. Worth your time.
3/5
JMP Registered, rated this a 4 26 July 2017, 12:21

Really enjoyed both maps. Although they're both obviously DM conversions, they function well as non-linear SP maps. The architecture is id-quality. There are a few unfair combats (e.g., taking a lift right into an ogre's face), but overall the combat is decent and there's sufficient health and armor. Impressive for 1996.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 30 November 2017, 19:51

Not much to add to the earlier reviews. You can clearly tell the author had familiarized himself intimately with the architectural details of both runic and base id maps. The single player versions of these maps exceeded my expectations overwhelmingly.

The maps being non-linear didn't bother me that much. I kind of did get lost in both maps, for an embarrassingly long time in the base map, for that matter, but it's okay.

Some of the teleporters in the runic map were a bit too particular for my liking. For deathmatch, especially, the teleporters should have very loose "tolerances", to allow smooth movement.

pmk Guest 27 October 2018, 14:52

well designed death match levels that can be played with single player functionality. These are well designed levels that are id quality with secrets to discover. The levels could have had a higher monster population in them with more intense combat situations. This short two level map pack get a three out of five rating from me and i would say they are worth a quick play through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in