Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of death
Author:Marc Roussel
Title:The Wrong Way
Download:death.zip (c1edec0e93b3139e1609dae8ed07a078)
Filesize:740 Kilobytes
Release date:07.12.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
DEATH.TXT2 KB07.12.1996
DEATH.DEM776 KB07.12.1996
DEATH2.DEM267 KB07.12.1996
DEATH.BSP1096 KB06.12.1996
DEATH.LOG2 KB07.12.1996
QBSP.LOG2 KB07.12.1996

death.zip - The Wrong Way

Small wizard map that requires finding some secrets to proceed. Comes with two demos.

Tags: small, wizard, puzzles, elder world, demo, dm

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.8/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 28 June 2014, 21:05

Nice level, a bit hard walkthrough, but doable, and anyway there are demos for help. Too bad it's so short...

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 6 September 2016, 21:09

This map has a few drawbacks--it's small, you're attacked as soon as the level starts, and finding secrets is necessary to reach the exit. Despite those things, I enjoyed playing it and recommend it. The architecture is varied, with different rooms having different styles, but it doesn't feel haphazard. After the start, the combat is pretty good. Overall, the map is flawed but fun.

dwere Registered, rated this a 4 6 September 2016, 21:51

I don't think that finding secrets to progress is a bad thing. It is an underused trope, and always welcome in my book.

The secrets in this particular map were easy.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 7 September 2016, 17:32

A very rare example of a map with too many ideas -- or rather, with too many undeveloped ideas. All those teleporters, holes in the floor to drop through, and unmarked secrets that you need for progression. Oh, and so, so much red armour! It's a shame that this mapper never put his evidently very fertile imagination to work on a big, solid level.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 7 January 2018, 9:28

I think for the time the brushwork and texturing on the map is top notch, but as stated, it's kind of rough around the edges. Due to the copious amount of powerups and red armor the map's a bit too easy, even if you're kind of starved for ammo. It's still fun to play.

You're required to find secrets to progress, but they're not very hard to find, so I didn't find it frustrating at all.

The map is also a tad too short, so when all is taken into account, the map also falls a little bit short from a 4/5 rating.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 3 14 January 2018, 21:17

Small map. I think it's the opposite of rewarding finding a red armor and then RL+invulnerabilty.

Hate when the map starts and you can't even look at the architecture or monster placements, because you're attacked right away. But I think this is a follow up to a previous map, so it's ok (I think that because of the weapon you get at the end).

Rated this a 3. Didn't enjoy the aspect of finding a secret in order to progress, it takes out the purpose of a secret, that is to make things easier through itens or a advantage position.

pmk Guest 28 October 2018, 0:52

I would give this map a three out of five rating as it is a well designed , coherent map and its unique in the fact the level designer makes the player discover unmarked secrets in order to progress through the level. I thought the texturing and brushwork of the map was well done for a 1996 quake map although the map could have used a tougher final battle encounter to challenge the player. Overall pretty good map and would recommend that it is worth a quick play through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in