Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of digs02
Author:Digs
Title:Digs02 - Virtual World
Download:digs02.zip (8052e778f362a3b16490661a7220833f)
Filesize:202 Kilobytes
Release date:18.06.2006
Homepage:http://digspt.ru/quake/
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
digs02Nightmare0h02m36sdeath1126662018-03-16
NM 100%

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
digs02.bsp683 KB18.06.2006
readme.rus1 KB18.06.2006
readme.eng1 KB18.06.2006

digs02.zip - Digs02 - Virtual World

Small map with a unique Tron- or cyberspace-like texture theme.

Tags: tron, experimental, abstract, small, cyberspace, textures, minimalist, unique

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 2 December 2013, 20:54

Spirit (or negke, I'm not sure whose job this is): I am wondering about the editor's rating – should this not perhaps be rated higher than “average”? Not necessarily “excellent”, but at least “nice”?

In terms of gameplay and level design it may be simple, but really well done with no problems I could see – and the visuals are VERY unique and well-implemented. This map is more than two years older than whiteroom, which is the only other map I am aware of that attempts something along these lines. The latter has an editor's rating of “excellent”, and while I do agree that it is a better map, I would argue that digs02 deserves at least a “nice”, especially given its age.

Personally I loved the simplicity and oldschool feel of the gameplay, since it complemented the visuals perfectly. Plus there is at least one secret that makes clever use of the grid-like textures.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 3 December 2013, 13:12

An interestingly different map. I found it disquieting when I fell into the water that I didn't realise was water, only to find that the surface looks like the same Tron-ish grid from beneath! But there's not much to the gameplay, so I ended up giving it a solid 3/5.

I missed both secrets. Where was the one that you found, Icantthinkofanickname?

(And are you regretting your choice of nickname yet? :-) )

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 3 December 2013, 13:26

Hehe, maybe a little, yes. :-)

As always, SPOILER alert to everyone else:

In the second room you enter (with the grunts), take a closer look at the wall to your left. I'm sure you'll see it.

Yes, that water is a nifty surprise: it was one of the things I liked most about the map.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 3 December 2013, 13:55

I really like this myself, can't remember why it is rated Average. Don't read too much into the ratings.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 3 December 2013, 14:09

Fair enough. Thanks for responding, Spirit.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 3 December 2013, 18:06

Ah, yes, that IS clever. I saw the black square on my first go through, but shot it and nothing happened, so I figured it was just a glitch. This time I tried to headbutt it, and realised its actually a hole.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 26 January 2014, 13:51

short, but sweet. i like how the sky had a grid texture to it as well.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 4 27 February 2014, 9:53

Quake goes Tron - well, at least a bit. :) There are still some inconsistencies like buttons which keep their original texture, or the general issue that weapons and enemies stay the same, but at the end of the day, it's nitpicking. What looks like missing textures at first is turning into something refreshingly new after getting used to it. Respect to the author for this experiment which turned out well in my opinion. Sidenote: If you take the time to VIS this map, the transparent "water" looks even more interesting than it did before already. :)

spacey Guest 12 June 2014, 16:56

Another great experimental map!

death112 Registered, rated this a 5 16 March 2018, 15:02

Nicely balanced. Nothing more to say.

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 3 26 September 2018, 18:12

I might have expected too much from this map but I was a little disappointed.

I tend to value originality very highly, so I was really pumped for these very peculiar graphics. Alas! In game, they look much less bright than on the screenshot, so the effect is somewhat subdued. For a better Tron-like look, the texture colors should've been fullbright.

As for the gameplay, well, it was kinda dull. And too short.

3/5, +1 for originality, -1 for execution.

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 3 26 September 2018, 21:27

BTW, has anyone figured out where the 2nd secret is?

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in