Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of digs04
Author:Digs
Title:The Parallel Worlds
Download:digs04.zip (bb1346447afb30915cff1ec082796b91)
Filesize:3302 Kilobytes
Release date:18.06.2008
Homepage:http://digspt.ru/quake/
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
digs04.txt2 KB17.06.2008
digs04.bsp7923 KB18.06.2008

digs04.zip - The Parallel Worlds

A huge and highly detailed base map with a unique twist - it is actually three levels in one, to be played in succession. Each exit leads to a different version of the same map with modified layouts/routes and monster placement.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: base, idbase, multiple playthrough map, large, mustplay, unique, ikbase

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 26 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ron, rated this a 5 27 August 2009, 13:49
Amazing !
Never seen anything like this.
I can't believe this is one BSP file !
And what a lot of detail !
A beautiful map with great gameplay that feels like a campaign (I mean, more than 1 map ...)
This is an absolute "must play", I think.
Quaker 20 February 2010, 6:45
Basically like 3 related levels. Each layout is good and challenging, third one is insane difficulty. One complaint, exits caught me by total surprise first two rounds. 9+ ratubg
Quaker 20 February 2010, 6:46
Sorry, ratubg=rating. Should've proofread.
disappearing boy 21 June 2010, 18:43
when i try to play this i get the following message: Hunk_Alloc: failed on 3828464 bytes.

Any help?
22 June 2010, 7:07
Use Fitzquake085, Bengt Jardrup's enhanced Glquake, or Darkplaces.
disappearing boy 22 June 2010, 17:25
ah it works now, thanks for your help :)
Berntsen, rated this a 5 27 June 2010, 23:03
What a fantastic map! Upon completing the first part in 20 minutes on nightmare, I thought the loading time the map required was strange, but quickly discovered the reason. Great fun, not easy but not masochistically difficult either, and the attention to details and eyecandy were also plentiful. Recommended!
Ron, rated this a 5 6 August 2010, 11:04
I just replayed it with the DirectQ engine (deserved propaganda ;))and it also works fine with that.
damage_inc Guest 26 February 2013, 3:38
Sheer purrrrfection! And that's understating it a bit as well ;)

If you still play Quake then as Ron stated: "this is an absolute must play". And indeed it is.
mmm Registered, rated this a 5 30 June 2013, 13:58

Great idea, great execution! It's like a mini-episode in itself. I had a hard time during the last battle until I've found the spot where the shamblers couldn't get to me. And all the time during that battle I saw the secret with the shaft in plain view that I couldn't get into.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 4 December 2013, 23:44

A novel idea, certainly. It starts off very impressively, with an unorthodox reverse intro, followed by a Doom 2 reference that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside (surely I am not the only one to notice that?).

After that there is plenty of almost excessive, headache-inducing detail everywhere – which unfortunately, in combination with somewhat non-linear gameplay, makes it very easy to get lost, especially in the initial incarnation of the map. The second and third run are very clearly set in the same place. Yes, there are some changes, but I was hoping for a bit more differentiation. I was hoping for it to feel like a bit more like a mini-episode of three maps, rather than one long map that could have benefited form a bit more visual variety.

Luckily the second run is noticeably shorter and more violent and so does play noticeably differently, whereas the third run ramps up the difficulty even further with a more treacherous environment in addition to a mass onslaught of monsters (medieval monsters really do not belong in an environment like this, though). So there is a definite sense of progression and rising tension. The final battle is particularly brutal – but inventively so and ultimately winnable, with a bit of strategic thinking and perhaps a few attempts.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 31 March 2016, 12:18

One of the more unique maps out there. I am pretty sure it force changes to skill 3 upon loading the third "version". Definitely a risky concept but I think it works for the most part.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 27 May 2016, 11:57

Bizarrely, it seems I've never played this before. More fool me. A most enjoyable base blast, really not far short of three separate levels. If anything, I might have liked to see the three runs resemble each other more closely.

I love it that Digs is not content simply to make excellent maps, but is constrantly striving to make maps that are both excellent and innovative!

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 23 June 2018, 12:43

Can't believe I never rated this insane clusterfuck map. Digs singlehandedly elevated himself to one of my favorite mappers with this single release.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in