Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dm6rmx
Author:than
Title:The Dark Portal
Download:dm6rmx.zip (77daf5c6d2b044fbd7e9c1e2704264fd)
Filesize:3157 Kilobytes
Release date:08.10.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
dm6rmxEasy0h15m38sqekko6662018-11-24
9. playthrough with easter egg
dm6rmxNightmare0h24m34sonetruepurple6662018-11-25
100% Nightmare Demo with "no deaths".

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
dm6rmx.bsp5342 KB08.10.2018
dm6rmx.lit1729 KB08.10.2018
dm6rmx.map4176 KB08.10.2018
dm6rmx.txt12 KB08.10.2018

dm6rmx.zip - The Dark Portal

A remake/remix of DM6 'The Dark Zone': Quake's stock deathmatch level turned into a large, industrial base-style singleplayer map. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, base, industrial, dm6, dm, remix, remake, limits, source

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 5/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 17 November 2018, 12:40

Another amazing than map. I cannot get enough of it!

warzonego55 Registered, rated this a 5 19 November 2018, 6:00

This is my first time posting a review on quaddicted and I am happy to say it is a positive one! I've never reviewed anything before so hopefully I can structure this into something coherent.

I also did a skill 2 run of the map if you can tolerate potato quality: https://youtu.be/miYPzelM21g

To start off I like how the map introduces you the mechanic of powering up areas with batteries in the first area of the map, so I instantly knew what I was supposed to be doing when I reached the powered down slipgate in the center of the map. Kudos to the author for explaining that little mechanic so quickly.

The map seemed to break down into roughly three different phases. The initial battery/key hunt, which had a nice sense of choice and non linearity in it. Then the arena fight that triggers when you first power up the slipgate. The C'thon fight was a nasty surprise turned out very doable. I normally hate when mappers use C'thon (Never finished Contract Revoked because fuck that insane knockback+thin walkways suspended over lava) but it was kept very short and sweet. The red armor given to the player before the fight was essential to the fight working and I was able to deal with those nuclear radius lava rocks without trial and error. I appreciated how he dies on the first lightning strike instead of three, it would have been a slog otherwise. The last phase at the bottom at map was just the cherry on top. It was a little anti-climatic compared to scripted sequence that came just before it, but still was a fitting conclusion to the map.

I also must say the visuals on the map are pretty solid. The set pieces and detail in geometry was nicely done, I felt like I was playing a AD map with all the vents, steel girders, chains and pipes around making the map feel like a genuine place instead of an abstract maze. The non-base monsters felt a little out of place visually, but are totally fine based on how much they add to the map gameplay wise.

Overall the map is a solid 5 out of 5. It's just consistent high quality throughout and I look forward to checking out the author's other maps.

P.S. Also the story section in the readme was hilarious. Remember kids if you want to be a badass slipgate warrior just smoke a pack of Marlboros a day ;).

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 5 20 November 2018, 17:51

Well, first of all, as always, sorry for my rusted and brazilian english. Played on level hard, hate nightmare.

My first run on this map was a delight. Like mentioned above, I really like how the author can communicate the purpose and details of the map in a natural way. The objective to be searching for batteries was clear from the beggining to end.

I found 5 of the 8 secrets (and the easter egg at the end). At first I thought, "blooded grates now?" because if it was a powerup, I think no one would have found it before the final fight.

I liked the branching paths to power up the portal, feels like several maps compiled into one.

Here are some of my complaints (maybe it was purposely done):

Maybe because in the original quake the easy path was to the left, I always go left path first. In this map, it caused me to goa long way with a simple shotgun. Maybe put a super shotgun in both ways, and leave weapons like the super nailgun on one and the thunder on the other, like in a 1000cuts? (I didn't find the thunder, but I think it's a secret).

Another issue is that when portal charges up, and maybe I haven't read it in the heat of the battle, I didn't realize that the emergency rooms were opened. So I was "axing" and making the monsters fight each other a lot. After the fight, I was all packed for carnage again.

And last, and this is my personal issue (i know). I hate when there is a door that is obsviously a door, that when you touch says nothing. Because I think it's a secret and keep searching. After you pick up the battery in the right pathway, I was sure that it was a door in the orange pipe. I had to noclip and find the drop to the rocket launcher.

But I rate this a 5 nonetheless. It was perfect.

Two highlights for me:

In the battery room of the left, there was a shambler. When I was in the middle of the fight, I heard a fiend noise. I really panicked for two seconds thinking it was on my back. Nice coincidence.

And in the right path, when you are going to the air pipe to go back, you fight the shambler and in the corner of the screen I could see the fiend approaching. That was nearly cinematic for me.

Really a piece of art. Thanks.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in