Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of drysorrow
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:Dry Sorrow
Download:drysorrow.zip (d935dc002de3332bdb1ad3125c3494ed)
Filesize:2876 Kilobytes
Release date:29.01.2011
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:something_wicked



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
drysorrowNightmare6m7setb6662016-12-18
Acceptable gameplay, 100% kills and secrets.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
drysorrow.txt2 KB29.01.2011
gfx/env/ozymandias_bk.tga769 KB31.10.2002
gfx/env/ozymandias_dn.tga769 KB01.11.2002
gfx/env/ozymandias_ft.tga769 KB01.11.2002
gfx/env/ozymandias_lf.tga769 KB01.11.2002
gfx/env/ozymandias_rt.tga769 KB01.11.2002
gfx/env/ozymandias_up.tga769 KB01.11.2002
maps/drysorrow.bsp2870 KB28.01.2011

drysorrow.zip

Dry Sorrow

Small medieval outpost with a unique texture theme and horde-based combat. A touched-up version of an old deathmatch map converted for SP mode. Comes with a custom skybox.

Note: This map requires the Drake mod.


Tags: small, medieval, mixtex, egypt, drake, hard

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Yhe1 2 June 2011, 5:02
With Aguirre's helps, I've fixed the first door of Dry Sorrow so that it works multiple times now.

http://www.quaketastic.com/upload/files/single_player/maps/Dry_Sorrow_Fix.rar
JD Guest 5 January 2014, 18:43

this is a outstanding run and gun kill them all and let god sort them out kind of map!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 6 January 2014, 17:21

I only got 102 of 124 kills on medium, despite killing everything I saw and finding all three secrets. I wonder where the others were?

I really struggled with the big combat in the second area. For some reason, I didn't find the door in the far-left corner of the courtyard, so I spent many unhappy minutes being sniped at from all directions, low on health and armour, and unable to get a clear shot at most of my assailants. Completely my own fault, of course, but it did mean that I didn't have much fun; and the rest of the map was staggeringly anticlimactic after I'd been through that.

ezze Guest 18 February 2015, 14:13

In Easy the Silver runekey is in front of the gold locked door, but I cannot find it on the other difficulty levels. Where is it?

ezze Guest 17 September 2015, 21:30

I was probably a bug on the engine, played again with Quakespasm on Nightmare and it gorgeous. IMO one of the best map ever.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 29 November 2016, 13:25

This seems to be a precursor of what Tronyn's maps will be become. Unfortunately the Drake mod is not so here and thus we get some cramped horde based combat which doesn't work out too well.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 25 May 2019, 1:43

I thought it was a nice map. It doesn't have the epic scale of many of Tronyn's maps but it does have the enemy density and it looks great. Good for a quick play.

Jugador Registered, rated this a 5 10 October 2019, 18:22

One of the most electrifying maps I recall. I like the upgraded guns.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 8 November 2019, 15:13

Had the same problem as MikeTaylor; looked all over the map, even in noclip, could not find the remaining monsters. Then I decided to go ahead and take that last superhealth box, and all the missing enemies suddenly appeared.

Kayne Registered, rated this a 5 22 November 2019, 18:22

This is a rather pretty, though frantic map from start to finish, and one that certainly doesn't hesitate on trying to smash the player's face in on hard. Lord knows how the madlads on nightmare can run through this...

Overall the map had a really nice flow, and did an excellent job at making sure that the player doesn't get lost with subtle enemy placements and layout. speaking of enemy placements, there is a lot of them... and the encounters are focused on throwing these massive hordes of baddies your way like Serious Sam on copious amounts of steroids. Prepare to die a lot if you aren't very good at quake or circle strafing. If you need a break, turn down the difficulty on this one, but keep in mind that there are still a ton of enemies regardless of whether you are playing on an easier mode.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in