Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dw_bizbazfinal
Author:Doug Wheeler aka Bullseye8841
Title:The Bizarre Bazaar
Download:dw_bizbazfinal.zip (7fbaae7423559776744c39249829c18c)
Filesize:1114 Kilobytes
Release date:24.12.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
dw_bizbazfinal.bsp2702 KB16.12.2017
dw_bizbazfinal.txt5 KB23.12.2017

dw_bizbazfinal.zip - The Bizarre Bazaar

A marketplace themed SP map of moderate size.

Tags: medieval, city

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3/5 with 4 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
JagTaggart Registered, rated this a 3 30 December 2017, 20:50

Not bad. Some good enemy placement and a challenging final fight makes this one a worthy download. However it was much too dark in a lot of areas.

JagTaggart Registered, rated this a 3 30 December 2017, 20:50

Not bad. Some good enemy placement and a challenging final fight makes this one a worthy download. However it was much too dark in a lot of areas.

Bullseye8841 Registered 3 January 2018, 19:59

Thanks for the feedback, Jag! I'm working on improving my lighting for the next map. :)

JMP Registered 10 January 2018, 22:56

A great debut map. It's crude in some ways but also very creative, and I enjoyed the unique setting. The biggest drawback, IMO, is that it's very easy for the player to provoke infighting in the final fight, so it ends up being a cakewalk for experienced players.

Tribal Registered, rated this a 3 27 January 2018, 9:42

I really like the architecture and all the work done in the outdoor areas, but the indoor rooms are a little too empty for my taste. As JagTaggart said, the map is too dark in some places... but the gameplay was solid and the combat was a lot of fun, especially the last fight =D

I made a playthrough on hard, killed all the enemies, but didn't find all the secrets: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DZ28IHfX-E

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 30 January 2018, 9:06

I found this one only OK, and was a bit surprised to find in the documentation that it was inspired by Giftmacher and Sock's current greatest-ever map ad_sepulcher. It feels very much like a 1990s map, in the flatness of the architecture and the cramped quality of many areas.

But with all that said, it's a first map from Doug Wheeler -- and I always like first maps, not least because of they promise they hold for second maps. When I think of the huge leap between Redfield's Unknown Kadath and his superb followup Paradise Sickness, it makes me excited to think of what Doug might do next.

Bullseye8841 Registered 30 January 2018, 18:32

I should probably clarify that ad_sepulcher was the inspiration for me to map in Quake, not the inspiration for the map itself.

Regardless, the feedback has been very helpful. Thanks everyone!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 31 January 2018, 9:57

Well, I admire that you were able to find Forgotten Sepulcher an inspiration rather than an intimidation! There have been times when I've toyed with the idea of trying to learn Quake mapping; but when I see something as astonishing as FS, it just makes me throw up my hands in despair!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in