Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dwsecret
Author:DeeDoubleU
Title:Secret
Download:dwsecret.zip (a1190519646eb57af4e8407fdbf086fd)
Filesize:546 Kilobytes
Release date:14.11.2015
Homepage:http://www.dimwalker.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
secret.bsp1131 KB13.11.2015
secret.lit448 KB13.11.2015
secret.txt1 KB14.11.2015

dwsecret.zip - Secret

Small medieval-style fortress where all items are hidden in countless secrets which have to be discovered in order to survive.

Tags: small, medieval, castle, secrets, puzzles, oldschool

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
FUBAR Guest 20 November 2015, 4:35

Fun little map with lots of secrets. Some secrets were obvious -- others more difficult. My only complaint was that it seemed a bit simplistic & small but hey, 5 days or less from start to finish is not bad at all! I hope you continue making maps based on survival theme.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 21 November 2015, 12:56

Damn, 14/15. Had lots of fun playing this, refreshing style! http://www.quaketastic.com/files/demos/secret-SpiritQuaddict.dz

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2015, 17:55

Yes, this was interestingly different. Hard, though: I only got about seven of the secrets, and never able to use any of my nails. What is the proper way to reach the permeable window that leads to the opening from which you can jump at the button the releases the red armour at the very start?

A very promising debut from a new mapper.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2015, 22:07

Mike, for the red armor, you have to touch all 3 red buttons—including the one high up near the very start. If you look closely, you can see where you have to jump from....

Finding that secret was the only way I got through this at all, on my first playthrough. I just ran past all the high-level monsters, straight to the exit. It definitely deserves at least another playthrough from me. Super refreshing. This kind of "experimental" design is something I'd like to see more of. If DeeDoubleU makes more of these, I could see s/he/them making some of the coolest maps ever.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 23 November 2015, 11:20

Lane, I realise I need to hit that button, which I do by jumping from the alcove high above the area where you start. I also know you can get to that alcove through the window on the ledge above the main area. My question is, how to get to that window? I can't find a way to jump up to it from the ledge, and I have no explosives for grenade/rocket-jumping.

dumptruck_ds Registered 7 December 2015, 20:32

I enjoyed this but some of the visual language of the secrets were inconsistent and required guessing. Well worth playing though: unique and fun!

Dymitry Guest 26 December 2015, 11:12

15/15 secrets, but I think I used more grenade and rocket jumps than intended (in fact, I grenade jumped to the red armor before realising it was supposed to be approached from above). Combat gave me no problems but could have had I missed secrets or found them in the wrong order.

Dymitry Guest 28 December 2015, 2:06

Replaying the level without as many rocket jumps (the first time I took more damage from them than the enemies), I see that there are two ways to jump to that red button. The faster way is to jump from the nailgun beam to one of the two other beams and strafe jump towards the button at an angle. The intended way appears to be jumping onto the ledge of the first, blocked window from the steps and then doing a difficult strafe jump along the wall to reach the second window ledge. The other difficult jump I avoided using rockets for this time is that reverse slope jump to get to the ledge above the gold key. I still needed a rocket jump to get the Thunderbolt.

mmm Registered, rated this a 4 30 December 2015, 14:48

It's a great little level filled to the brim with secrets.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 27 October 2016, 15:38

Wasn't my cup of tea, gimmick secrets and as others stated visual language inconsistency...still DeeDoubleU's first map release so that's a consideration.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in