Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_1
Author:Ubiquitous
Title:Of Three Plantagenets
Download:e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_1.zip (628db7c17018e5a53c9416d2112923dd)
Filesize:18655 Kilobytes
Release date:08.08.2019
Homepage:https://ubiquitousgame.wordpress.com
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardVersion 1.4
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
e1ubi/e1ubi.txt3 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/gfx/conback.lmp301 KB14.10.2018
e1ubi/maps/debris/brick01.bsp8 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/debris/wood1.bsp8 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m1ubi.bsp9240 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m1ubi.lit1619 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m2ubi.bsp12969 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m2ubi.lit2624 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m3ubi.bsp10461 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m3ubi.lit2607 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/start.bsp2515 KB21.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/start.lit154 KB21.07.2019
e1ubi/progs.dat413 KB21.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/boss.mdl207 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/candle.mdl24 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/debris.mdl26 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/g_shotgn.mdl25 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/g_shotty.mdl23 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/hkubi.mdl224 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/hnubi.mdl17 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/lavaball.mdl9 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/s_flame.spr29 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/spark.mdl10 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/vsubi.mdl14 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/ambient/machine.wav1279 KB07.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/ambient/rain.wav5616 KB15.10.2018
e1ubi/sound/bell.wav174 KB15.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_bricks1.wav61 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_metal1.wav44 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_metal2.wav70 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_stones1.wav74 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_wood1.wav34 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_wood2.wav33 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/elec22k.wav81 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/rumble.wav52 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/spark.wav15 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/water_59_02.wav47 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/hknight/spike2.wav19 KB16.07.2019

e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_1.zip - Of Three Plantagenets

Three-map mini episode in a dark medieval theme. It has an extra start map and features a few modifications, some new sounds, models and textures.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support.
An updated version is available here.


Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Hal Registered, rated this a 3 17 August 2019, 17:32

Not bad. Visually interesting in parts, especially the iconic paintings on walls. You don't see that very often. I like the Honey look to the second map that gives it a bit of scale and atmosphere. Quite a few areas are far too dark as well.

As far as gameplay goes, it's a bit predictable and janky. Spawning enemies was never something I liked, and in the first map I cheesed one encounter by just standing behind some boxes while the AI failed to get to me.

An opportunity was missed to add more secrets to these maps, there are hardly any at all. I saw plenty of areas where there could've been something to keep the pace going, but it felt a bit empty. Add more secrets!

ubiquitous Registered 18 August 2019, 9:56

Until Quaddicted is updated, there is a new version of the map with a couple of big fixes available here: http://www.quaketastic.com/files/singleplayer/maps/e1ubiplantegenetsv13.zip

cosmaty Registered, rated this a 5 18 August 2019, 23:45

I like this release very much, but please to fix the save ability on second and third map.

Solomoriah Registered 19 August 2019, 23:33

The link for 1.3 that ubiquitous shared above is borked, due to Markdown interpreting the underscores. Here's a shot at a correct URL:

http://www.quaketastic.com/files/single_player/maps/e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_3.zip

Solomoriah Registered 20 August 2019, 0:45

Ack. I'm having the same problem cosmaty reported, where the engine crashes if I try to save the game on the 2nd map. The same problem I always have with Danzadan's maps.

ubiquitous Registered 20 August 2019, 8:25

@ cosmaty, Solomoriah: which engine are you using? I saw a number of people play successfully with QS.

cosmaty Registered, rated this a 5 20 August 2019, 21:23

@ ubiquitous: I use QuakeSpasm 0.93.0 for Linux. This is not issue only for your map, but some new maps have this one. I read somewhere the problem could be because of memory and solve by proper map compilation, but I have no skills for find a real reason. Anyway, congratulation for great epizod :)

iw Guest 23 August 2019, 1:44

Ubiquitous, just FYI, I've posted some suggestions about fixing the crash-on-save bug in your thread on func_msgboard.

ubiquitous Registered 26 August 2019, 10:41

New Version Okay, using the suggestion of iw, I have produced a new version (1.4) that should hopefully fix the save bug. It can be obtained from Quaketastic here: http://www.quaketastic.com/files/single_player/maps/e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_4.zip

cosmaty Registered, rated this a 5 26 August 2019, 19:47

@ ubiquitous: Thank you for fixing the save issue. Now I could finish your episode that was great in every part of level design and gameplay. I am looking for your next work soon. I hope you keep going.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in