Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_1
Author:Ubiquitous
Title:Of Three Plantagenets
Download:e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_1.zip (628db7c17018e5a53c9416d2112923dd)
Filesize:18655 Kilobytes
Release date:08.08.2019
Homepage:https://ubiquitousgame.wordpress.com
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardVersion 1.4
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
e1ubi/e1ubi.txt3 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/gfx/conback.lmp301 KB14.10.2018
e1ubi/maps/debris/brick01.bsp8 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/debris/wood1.bsp8 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m1ubi.bsp9240 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m1ubi.lit1619 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m2ubi.bsp12969 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m2ubi.lit2624 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m3ubi.bsp10461 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/e1m3ubi.lit2607 KB24.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/start.bsp2515 KB21.07.2019
e1ubi/maps/start.lit154 KB21.07.2019
e1ubi/progs.dat413 KB21.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/boss.mdl207 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/candle.mdl24 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/debris.mdl26 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/g_shotgn.mdl25 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/g_shotty.mdl23 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/hkubi.mdl224 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/hnubi.mdl17 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/lavaball.mdl9 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/s_flame.spr29 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/spark.mdl10 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/progs/vsubi.mdl14 KB16.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/ambient/machine.wav1279 KB07.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/ambient/rain.wav5616 KB15.10.2018
e1ubi/sound/bell.wav174 KB15.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_bricks1.wav61 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_metal1.wav44 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_metal2.wav70 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_stones1.wav74 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_wood1.wav34 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/break/pd_wood2.wav33 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/elec22k.wav81 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/rumble.wav52 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/spark.wav15 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/dump/water_59_02.wav47 KB06.07.2019
e1ubi/sound/hknight/spike2.wav19 KB16.07.2019

e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_1.zip

Of Three Plantagenets

Three-map mini episode in a dark medieval theme. It has an extra start map and features a few modifications, some new sounds, models and textures.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support.
An updated version is available here.


Tags: start, episode, honey

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.3/5 with 34 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Hal Registered 17 August 2019, 17:32

Not bad. Visually interesting in parts, especially the iconic paintings on walls. You don't see that very often. I like the Honey look to the second map that gives it a bit of scale and atmosphere. Quite a few areas are far too dark as well.

As far as gameplay goes, it's a bit predictable and janky. Spawning enemies was never something I liked, and in the first map I cheesed one encounter by just standing behind some boxes while the AI failed to get to me.

An opportunity was missed to add more secrets to these maps, there are hardly any at all. I saw plenty of areas where there could've been something to keep the pace going, but it felt a bit empty. Add more secrets!

ubiquitous Registered 18 August 2019, 9:56

Until Quaddicted is updated, there is a new version of the map with a couple of big fixes available here: http://www.quaketastic.com/files/singleplayer/maps/e1ubiplantegenetsv13.zip

cosmaty Registered 18 August 2019, 23:45

I like this release very much, but please to fix the save ability on second and third map.

Solomoriah Registered 19 August 2019, 23:33

The link for 1.3 that ubiquitous shared above is borked, due to Markdown interpreting the underscores. Here's a shot at a correct URL:

http://www.quaketastic.com/files/single_player/maps/e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_3.zip

Solomoriah Registered 20 August 2019, 0:45

Ack. I'm having the same problem cosmaty reported, where the engine crashes if I try to save the game on the 2nd map. The same problem I always have with Danzadan's maps.

ubiquitous Registered 20 August 2019, 8:25

@ cosmaty, Solomoriah: which engine are you using? I saw a number of people play successfully with QS.

cosmaty Registered 20 August 2019, 21:23

@ ubiquitous: I use QuakeSpasm 0.93.0 for Linux. This is not issue only for your map, but some new maps have this one. I read somewhere the problem could be because of memory and solve by proper map compilation, but I have no skills for find a real reason. Anyway, congratulation for great epizod :)

iw Guest 23 August 2019, 1:44

Ubiquitous, just FYI, I've posted some suggestions about fixing the crash-on-save bug in your thread on func_msgboard.

ubiquitous Registered 26 August 2019, 10:41

New Version Okay, using the suggestion of iw, I have produced a new version (1.4) that should hopefully fix the save bug. It can be obtained from Quaketastic here: http://www.quaketastic.com/files/single_player/maps/e1ubi_plantegenets_v1_4.zip

cosmaty Registered 26 August 2019, 19:47

@ ubiquitous: Thank you for fixing the save issue. Now I could finish your episode that was great in every part of level design and gameplay. I am looking for your next work soon. I hope you keep going.

QuakeFreak Registered 8 October 2019, 3:36

Very fun set of maps. The paintings were a great touch.

Solomoriah Registered 18 October 2019, 4:06

Yes, the save bug is fixed for me too, and I'm loving it!

whirlstr Registered 29 October 2019, 1:26

Overall decent episode, but it is very clear that the maps are in order of creation. All of the maps have nice visuals, but the first 2 suffer badly from awkward geometry, pitch-blackness, and repetitive gameplay. They feel very 90s (in a bad way). The third map is a big step up, a 4/5 on its own. It's fun to navigate, the gameplay is exciting, and there's some cool custom models put to good use (including a custom key). It's still a bit too dark though. The author must have a brighter monitor than I or play with a higher gamma, because there are several moments where something important simply can't be seen on default brightness.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 November 2019, 12:19

I enjoyed this a lot, but without picking up any sense at all that it had anything to do with the Plantegenets. The artworks are lovely, though, and really add something.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 November 2019, 12:22

@cosmaty @Solomoriah I too have suffered with the crash-on-save bug on many maps — not just the ones in this pack. I very recently upgraded from QuakeSpasm 0.93.0 to 0.93.2, and that seems to have fixed the problem. Hope it does the same for you!

ubiquitous Registered 27 November 2019, 23:15

@MikeTaylor: the reference to the Plantagenets is there, but is a bit subtle and requires some knowledge of literature as well as history...

MikeTaylor Registered 28 November 2019, 0:10

@ubiquitous Are you going to spell it out? :-)

Gioyo3aa Registered 11 January 2020, 22:43

Very nice, atmospheric and visually unique. I particularly liked the murals and the "misty lightings". Gameplay is tough at times but always reasonable.

ubiquitous Registered 12 January 2020, 22:20

@MikeTaylor the map titles "Seat of Mars", "Under Eastcheap", and "Into the Breach" are references to Shakespeare Plays (Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V respectively). Those are three Plantagenet kings.

MikeTaylor Registered 13 January 2020, 18:03

That's pretty subtle :-)

Johnny Law Registered 3 August 2020, 5:31

Copying my comments from func here.

==========

OK, I've only played the first map so far, but I wanted to comment on it while it's fresh in my head.

I really enjoyed it. Yeah that particular brick juxtaposition mentioned above is a little off :-) but largely it's a good-looking and interesting environment.

It gave me an odd but nice feeling of a very old-school and new-school map at the same time. Old-school because of some of the narrow doors and hallways (and generally more Quakeguy-sized scale to places and objects), thin supports/rails here and there, and some plain square tunnels. New-school because of the cool bits of surreal "field of squares" brushwork. And:

The use of textures showing some old-master paintings was an interesting choice. It sounds like you have something thematic up your sleeve w.r.t. those, but I just liked the way they both fit into the atmosphere and also "popped", even if they didn't make much sense as diagetic pictures in the environment. Choosing paintings that are strongly about the use of light brought some interesting lighting effects into those rooms -- psychologically anyway, since I don't think you actually added any light entities to reflect what was going on in the paintings.

Anyway, it's fun to run through a quality creation that was driven by a slightly off-the-Quake-mainstream vision. As I mentioned above, the detailing was uneven, but some rooms were pretty nice and I expect you'll find a consistent level. FWIW I don't mind the narrow hallways when used appropriately -- and I think that e.g. zombie-grenading in narrow hallways is fine and good -- but narrow doorways I am less keen on.

==========

Finished map 2. Fun use of scale! It felt like a pretty epic journey/escape.

I'm glad you had patched out the extra falling damage. :-)

A couple of critiques:

1) I don't mind and can even enjoy some first-person platforming, but I think it's a faux pas (particularly in Quake) to require the player to land in a fiddly way, i.e. to have a small target zone that can be overshot with really bad consequences. The fun in Quake-style platforming IMO is figuring out a route and then in executing the take-off in the right direction, but controlling the length of the jump super-precisely can be more frustrating.

(Having gaps to fall into as you get off a lift is also pretty bad.)

2) A small thing, but: I think you should make more use of "rotted" health packs. When I'm getting chip damage as I go along it can almost feel unsatisfying to only have full health packs available to use.

==========

Third one completed. I'm not going to type a lot this time, but yeah more good work... you've got a real talent for presenting the feel of a journey through a gigantic but knowable space. A little bit of backtracking (with new monster spawn breadcrumbs), a little bit of paths crossing over each other, it almost all works really well and I feel that Quakeguy's fitbit is setting new personal bests for his step-counts.

Keep it up!

ubiquitous Registered 23 September 2020, 21:47

@JohnnyLaw thanks for taking the time to type up your thoughts!

erc Registered 29 September 2020, 19:11

This pack has a strong otherworldy quality to it. The first map is a bit uneven in the brushwork but sets the tone well. The follow-ups gradually get better both in construction and in gameplay. Combat is a bit on the relaxed side due to sparse enemy placement and an abundance of ammo. Still, an enjoyable romp that will take around an hour if you take your time.

AllisonChains Registered 16 September 2021, 21:59

This small episode has an incredibly strong theme to it, from the interestingly lit paintings, to the crumbling details, and shafts of dusty light. The finale was also a neat take on an old encounter.

It's certainly a little more cramp than levels tend to be nowadays, but isn't entirely out of line with the scale of base Quake. The only obvious "flaw" I noticed was that the architecture felt rather "thin" throughout. Many of the walls and floors seemed as though they should have been thicker to really push the feeling of not only support in the face of realistic weight, but also the simple sense of imposing visual mass for theme.

I also wish that there had been MANY more secrets to be found. The maps all have numerous nooks and crannies that would have benefited greatly from a tad more exploration in this regard. :)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in