Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of eber1_final
Author:eber150
Title:Slipgate to a Lost Dimension
Download:eber1_final.zip (25f4ea377b3c67c7257db2d5471374fb)
Filesize:881 Kilobytes
Release date:31.05.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links: Quaketastic mirror
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
eber1Nightmare11m22sEsrael6662022-06-07
100 % kills & secrets blind run, commentary
eber1HardCptGonzo6662022-06-12
100% not blind

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
eber1.bsp1840 KB31.05.2022
eber1.map1414 KB31.05.2022
eber1_readme.txt2 KB30.05.2022

eber1_final.zip

Slipgate to a Lost Dimension

A small single classic-style map inspired by id base maps but with some eldritch monsters. The author's first release. Map source is included.

"i'm from argentina and i started mapping for quake because the atmosphere and the mood of the game feels amazing, i didn't want to start with something crazy so i made a base map"


Tags: classic, vanilla, base, small, source, debut

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.9/5 with 27 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Muleke_Trairao Registered 7 June 2022, 18:14

Not bad for a first map! Hope you keep mapping for Quake and improve as you go. ;)

Chaser Registered 7 June 2022, 20:57

Pure fun for me. I kinda missed a level designed this way - fast encounters, spawn on button-press monsters etc. Very classic and fun.

Esrael Registered 7 June 2022, 21:52

Very nice work for a first map! It plays, looks and feels like a classic map from the 90s. You've certainly done your research on traditional Quake level design, good job! :)

I guess my only nitpick would be the secret design, which could've been more imaginative. I have commented more on that in the demo that I uploaded here.

Looking forward to seeing more maps from you, eber150!

Jehannum Registered 7 June 2022, 22:46

Very nice indeed for a first map. It has a nice flow to it, and you're not going to get lost.

I played on skill 2 and there was perhaps a little too much health and ammo. Maybe I'm just sadistic, but I prefer my Quake to be a bit more desperate.

Thanks to the author for sharing and I hope to see more from you in the future.

I Like Quake Registered 8 June 2022, 2:47

I too love the atmosphere and the mood of Quake.

Well, this feels like an experienced mapper's map. Very intense, kept me on my toes . I only survived in the Gold Key room because I noticed the secret. I shot it and ran for whatever was behind the "Orange Door" because I only had like 13 Health or something and I knew I wasn't gonna make it without some goodies. Luckily, there was Health.

Buenísimo.

The_Pirate Registered 8 June 2022, 21:05

I like this.

The author certainly hit the 'atmosphere'. Very good use of blinkenlights and sound for setting the mood.

Overall map style comes pretty close to old ID, but with better aligned textures...

For a first map, this is quite impressive. Especially as it is created in 'vanilla' Quake without mods.

My respect, Sir. I hope we will see more from your hand in the future. For now: thanks for sharing!

Johnny Law Registered 9 June 2022, 17:58

Yah this was cool. I really enjoy the theme variety and the indoor/outdoor/underground/water mix. The final secret was nice and cheeky too. :-)

I did kinda miss the grenade launcher, I know it would trivialize a couple of the fights at the end but that can be fun too! Maybe it was in the one secret I didn't find?

Great first map.

c0j Registered 9 June 2022, 19:37

great job eber :)

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 12 June 2022, 13:39

Great work. Had a blast. Thank you.

Ninja Registered 12 June 2022, 13:47

Top Class, played like a classic id map.5/5 Great game play.

Colossus Registered 13 June 2022, 2:41

It felt weird having ogres vores and deathknights in an id1 base but they are also an important part of the combat system so I understand why, overall I felt the gameplay was fairly solid ( a few places that were easy cheesable but still above average in this department any small issues I had don't take away from its just a really fun map to move and shoot in.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in