Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of eels
Author:Vondur
Title:Elements
Download:eels.zip (b8f1061b84c306d6356d29960c0ea0f7)
Filesize:2344 Kilobytes
Release date:04.11.2010
Homepage:http://www.vondur.net
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
eels.bsp3127 KB04.11.2010
eels.map2054 KB04.11.2010
eels.txt5 KB04.11.2010
moonbk.tga430 KB17.12.2008
moondn.tga33 KB14.04.2009
moonft.tga401 KB17.12.2008
moonlf.tga413 KB17.12.2008
moonrt.tga443 KB17.12.2008
moonup.tga1305 KB17.12.2008

eels.zip - Elements

Medium-sized medival level with distinctly themed areas for each element, and classic gameplay. A skybox and the map source are included.

Tags: oldschool, classic, medieval

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 28 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Qmaster, rated this a 5 23 December 2010, 21:23
WOW!!! Perfectly awesome! Simple yet so totally quake. Very oldschool and brings back memories. The lava section was totally awesome, I had fun jumping around from float to float like a maniac dodging grenades and death knight fire sprays! Wonderfully fun! Fantastic! 5/5
hkBattousai, rated this a 1 4 May 2012, 11:18
How do I get out of Water element section? I am stuck just at the beginning.
Dymitry Guest 18 July 2014, 3:35

Push the button at the far end of the room from where one drops down and receives the "water elements" message, then return to the entrance of the room and enter the water below where you landed. There is an underwater path with two spawns, then a room above where everything must be killed to open the exit.

Now you can re-rate the map.

FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2015, 0:45

Fun map, the rooms are a little bit "copy and paste" but it's still nice. :)

r Guest 26 July 2016, 11:29

While running the darkplaces the blue key doesn't "fall from the skies" so the QuakeSpasm is still a better solution. The darkplaces is always having the problem with the keys

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 27 July 2016, 4:13

hkBattousai never re-rated the map :(

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 5 16 October 2016, 4:08

I'd probably rate this a 4, but I can't stand to see such an unjust 1/5 rating affect it so unjustly!

This is definitely a very traditional map; simple, practical layout without too much visual flair (but definitely not too little, either!) and a good variety of encounters and enemies. My biggest complaint with this map would have to be with its ammo distribution; even as I was quicky running out of shells and nails, I was getting plenty of rocket pickups which I found pretty annoying at first, since I had neither a RL or a GL. The map is obviously balanced around the idea of the player finding the GL secret early on, which in my opinion is never a good idea; secrets should not be necessary to finish a level, they should only make it easier.

I did find the GL after I got the SK, and the map was definitely more manageable after that point, which was a good thing since I definitely would have run out of ammo fighting there.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 28 October 2016, 13:07

A really interesting idea for a map but everything seems really vast in the wrong way. I appreciate the semi-non linear aspects and playing with a coherent theme like this was enjoyable.

hkBattousai should have his/her rating license revoked or at least moderated by admins more closely. You do not rate something a bottom of the barrel 1 star because you as an individual get stuck. You rate the map by the sum of its parts. Absolutely appalling and disgraceful. I do not like to go off topic but I see these ratings everywhere your name pops up.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 28 October 2016, 15:18

Very competently constructed, as we'd expect from Vondur, but it doesn't hold together like his best work. I suspect that the map is simply too short (at 82 monsters) to carry off all three elements and make them feel like pervasive rather then just like decoration. Toss in the easiness of the map (on Hard) and it falls short of the high standards Vondur has set in, for example, Adamantine Cruelty.

magnusmww Registered, rated this a 4 19 September 2017, 0:05

I enjoyed this map, even if I have to agree with some of the former commenters; it's not Vondurs best map. That said, it offerst some interesting design and pretty good gameplay.

etb Guest 25 March 2018, 14:46

I really enjoyed this map, the first two sections (water and air) are nicely constructed; the only downside is the final section (lava) as it becomes too much "sniping hapless enemies." I am not a big fan of marathon levels, so I enjoyed the size and the theme.

About the final section; the knights cannot reach you, the ogres cannot aim, and (at least on Nightmare) the Shamblers are easy to beat as they always try to shoot you even if you can easily cover or walk back. So the only real challenge there are the final Shalrats.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in