Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of endofsolace
Author:dumptruck_ds
Title:The End of Solace
Download:endofsolace.zip (2299d2730ec789b50f6dd97a50e015ec)
Filesize:3285 Kilobytes
Release date:09.10.2017
Homepage:https://secretlevelsite.wordpress.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
endofsolaceNightmare0h16m00sdeath1126662018-03-04
NM 100% - Missed a monster at the end, pls dont judge :)

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
endofsolace.bsp4320 KB09.10.2017
endofsolace.lit1844 KB09.10.2017
endofsolace.map2216 KB09.10.2017
endofsolace_readme.txt3 KB09.10.2017
endofsolace_screenshot.jpg475 KB09.10.2017

endofsolace.zip - The End of Solace

Large moldy blood dungeon "in the style of E1M3". The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, medieval, bricks, blood, limits, source

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
qekko Registered, rated this a 5 28 October 2017, 11:25

This really feels like classic id map. Map is making good use for old school explore-style progression through maps, although there is a moment where you need to find secret to go forth. Indiana Jones traps and nuances, but with Quake's blocky, but otherworldly and charismatic style. Truly a love letter to the vanilla.

qekko Registered, rated this a 5 29 October 2017, 10:21

I had to add that, maybe it isn't love-letter to the vanilla, when there are source port limitations, (silly me). But love letter to id-style itself.

dumptruck_ds Registered 1 November 2017, 20:34

Thanks for the kinds words. I'm not sure why this release is singled out for breaking 21 years old engine limits when almost every new release also requires modern source ports. I'm no expert on the subject and this is technically my first Q1SP map. I will definitely take a look at what I can do better in the future.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 27 November 2017, 20:10

The End of Solace on The Quake Grave

Dumptruck's first single release is a really fun map! It definitely has a throwback feel too it but the map also has a variety of different styled rooms and events rolled into it. Lots to enjoy in this one!

There was only one area towards the end that I wasn't too sure what was going on and that was with the teleport door on the bridge by the castle. You'll see this in the video but I didn't quite understand how this was supposed to function. Dumptruck said that there may be some sort of glitch, but this doesn't ruin an already awesome map. Nice work!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 30 November 2017, 9:13
  • Really nice id1-style with dark, effective lighting and some interesting brushwork--not too detailed but it didn't need to be. I especially liked the broken walls with the red glows behind them, which gave the illusion that the location is bigger than it is, with many unseen corners and dimensions.

  • Some trivial or weird monster placements. I wish I had recorded a demo but one that stood out was when you hop onto the bricks to grab a button that activates a lift, and in spawn some scrags and a (from my position) pretty nonthreatening vore. Weird!

-- It seems like you have to find the rocket launcher secret to progress. I honestly would've given up if it weren't for ArrrCee's video.

++ Still better than my first map! Keep mapping!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 30 November 2017, 9:14

(Uh, excuse the auto-formatting. The first bullet point is supposed to be a plus, the second one a minus.)

dumptruck_ds Registered 13 December 2017, 20:30

"but one that stood out was when you hop onto the bricks to grab a button that >activates a lift, and in spawn some scrags and a (from my position) pretty >nonthreatening vore. Weird!"

Thanks for the review Lane.

That long hallway section was originally a completely different trap and had to be reworked due to some amatuer errors I made. So yeah the monsters weren't so great in that section.

Hipnotic Rogue Registered, rated this a 5 30 December 2017, 20:12

For a first map this is fantastic fun. Lots of secrets to find, some of them are pretty easy but I actually found that to be a nice way to encourage me to get 100%. Sometimes, when secrets are just too obscure it kills the urge to find them all... at least for me.

A nice atmosphere and really good architecture set this map up as something worthy of exploration.

I want more of this style, please. :)

Hipnotic Rogue Registered, rated this a 5 30 December 2017, 20:12

For a first map this is fantastic fun. Lots of secrets to find, some of them are pretty easy but I actually found that to be a nice way to encourage me to get 100%. Sometimes, when secrets are just too obscure it kills the urge to find them all... at least for me.

A nice atmosphere and really good architecture set this map up as something worthy of exploration.

I want more of this style, please. :)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 18 January 2018, 18:48

Perfectly good, and enjoyable, but perhaps a little too old-school in 2018? It all feels a bit too arbitrary to be fully satisfying. Anyway, I finished with all 101 kills, and 7 of the 11 secrets -- would have 8 if I'd picked up the un-needed megahealth.

Also, a pet hate: once you move on to the later part of the map, the early part is sealed off forever, meaning that all the supplies you carefully avoided picking up until you needed them are now lost forever. Not a fan.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 4 19 January 2018, 13:41

Fun map, very refreshing to see an old-school release in 2018.

Floof Registered, rated this a 5 26 February 2018, 15:49

This is the first custom map for Quake I've played (I've been trying for ages without success to make one) and I have to say - I adore this level! The aesthetics are totally on-par with the original Quake, and the architecture is just incredible - I love details like the cracked walls, the sharp, nasty-looking brackets and the use of curves - plus, there are some parts which just made me slow down and stare around me in awe. I love the strange eye-like sign in the rock, super Lovecraftian and really works with Quake. The final room was amazing - loved the way you work your way around to it, and the cool shape of the Slipgate! The use of blood was a cool addition, gives you artistic license to use glowing liquids without making them deadly and reminds me of Doom. It was used very well to "outline" architecture and rooms.

Gameplay-wise, it was perfect for me - not insanely difficult (as most recent levels are for me) but with few, carefully positioned monsters. It was interesting (if jarring at first) to see Earth enemies towards the beginning, but it makes sense in a similar vein to E1M2.

I also liked the messages, has the same feeling as ID's ones, with a playful tone c:

(As others have mentioned, I did get stuck for a while around the Rocket Launcher secret. Unfortunately it did slow down the action and the sense of amazement I had kinda waned, but it's a small gripe)

All in all, this is an incredible level and you clearly show a mastering of 3D space and design. The fact that this is your first level just blows me away. Very inspiring~

death112 Registered, rated this a 5 4 March 2018, 15:30

Below lift secret 10/10 :) jokes aside, really amazing map. Had a really fun time playing it on NM.

You pulled the E1M3 feel off quite well. Powerful encounters throughout the map. Nice gimmicky traps with vores. Also, really strong placement of Ogre's. They just keep pressuring you, making them #1 on target lists.

For the secret hunters there are 11 powerful secrets. I say powerful, because the items feel really rewarding you get in them.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in