Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of evilexhumed
Author:Willem (Warren Marshall)
Title:Evil Exhumed
Download:evilexhumed.zip (0cced4af4ca3fa4f2976a687f3dc8b65)
Filesize:1555 Kilobytes
Release date:21.09.2008
Homepage:http://www.wantonhubris.com/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
EvilExhumed.bsp4775 KB21.09.2008
EvilExhumed.txt4 KB21.09.2008
evilexhumed_quaddictedrepack.txt1 KB28.04.2009

evilexhumed.zip - Evil Exhumed

Medium sized Base map with an excarvation site, a library and a secret lab. This file was repackaged by Spirit. You can find the original .zip in the trash

Tags: base, tech, underground, mine, outdoors, medium

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Bad Sector 3 April 2009, 6:03
This is indeed a very good level and i liked it :-). The "log messages", the excavation site, the secret labs are all well story design decisions and i believe the map could have easily been part of a larger episode with a more detailed story behind it.

Also i liked the clean architecture (This is how i like the base maps :-) and the design contrast between the base and the underground area.
Ubermann, rated this a 3 29 June 2010, 10:52
A cute level that features a techbase and a kind of mines area.
Author achieved a nice ambience for both areas

Detail is well done and general gameplay is fair.

Definately this is a map you will enjoy.

But on the bad side, the map does not gives you any surprise or something that will be remembered. Almost all of the monsters placement is something like predictable.
It's also possible you don't realize to take the Nailgun (because there are an alternative path), so you will be fighting with the Axe guessing if you miss something or not (because the DoubleShotgun ran out of ammo).
onetruepurple, rated this a 3 10 April 2012, 11:18
Neat and original visuals - especially digging the bricks working nicely the white idbase parts, and also the library. Some good exploration, several areas and items being entirely optional. Not very memorable in the long run though, and the attempts at the story fall short since there's no logical conclusion to it.
Drew, rated this a 4 9 August 2012, 23:19
I would rate this 3.5-4.
It is obvious that Willem put a lot of love into this map. There is generally a strong theme, and the way that the unit is divided into little distinct areas is nice. The gameplay tends to be somewhat meh however, especially in the mines, and is often too easy - especially if one finds all the secrets (one of which is rather expansive and very rewarding when you find it). The final fight could have used a bit more - one final round or something to finish things off. It's strange - technically it is quite good. Clean build, lots of quasi-realistic touches and attempts to add atmosphere, interesting and obivously well thought out layout. But there is just something about it that keeps it from being excellent.
Drew, rated this a 4 9 August 2012, 23:19
I would rate this 3.5-4.
It is obvious that Willem put a lot of love into this map. There is generally a strong theme, and the way that the unit is divided into little distinct areas is nice. The gameplay tends to be somewhat meh however, especially in the mines, and is often too easy - especially if one finds all the secrets (one of which is rather expansive and very rewarding when you find it). The final fight could have used a bit more - one final round or something to finish things off. It's strange - technically it is quite good. Clean build, lots of quasi-realistic touches and attempts to add atmosphere, interesting and obivously well thought out layout. But there is just something about it that keeps it from being excellent.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 12 March 2018, 14:23

I enjoyed this -- it's competent throughout, and has some enjoyably difficult moments -- without ever being very inspired by it. Toss in several nail traps (a real pet hate), and I'm left rounding my 3.5* rating down to 3*.

Seriously: has any map ever been improved by nail traps?

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in