Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fantasy
Author:Team Phoenix
Title:Fantasy Quake - Rise of the Phoenix
Download:fantasy.zip (654e9e0e57782dedcd1be81c8ef11bdf)
Filesize:24223 Kilobytes
Release date:21.12.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityQuake TerminusTEAMShambler
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fq/crusader.cfg1 KB09.10.1997
fq/readme.txt12 KB22.12.1997
fq/necro.cfg1 KB09.10.1997
fq/outland.cfg1 KB09.10.1997
fq/pak1.pak37320 KB21.12.1997
fq/diviner.cfg1 KB09.10.1997
fq/druid.cfg1 KB09.10.1997
fq/progs.dat705 KB21.12.1997
fq/pak0.pak21622 KB21.12.1997
fq/autoexec.cfg3 KB09.10.1997
fq/rogue.cfg1 KB09.10.1997
fq.bat3 KB21.12.1997

fantasy.zip - Fantasy Quake - Rise of the Phoenix

Total conversion with almost new everything. Around 20 SP maps in varying medieval/ fantasy themes and 4 DM maps; multiple player classes to choose from, new weapons, new enemies, etc.

"A totally total total conversion - pure fantasy style. A lot of maps with a great sense of exploration and discovery. This TC has new everything, and most of it is very good, though occasionally the new stuff can look a bit shoddy. There are some very cool details, and everything has a sense of fitting in well with the TC as a whole. Gameplay and maps are very different from Quake (which can take some getting used to), and usually very good - this is a most worthwhile TC."
- TEAMShambler



Tags: total conversion, large, episode, tc, monsters, weapons, medieval, wizard, fantasy, castle

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:32
This one may be huge, but it really didn't keep my interest. Too un-quakey. Of course, if you want something different, it seems pretty fine.
hkBattousai, rated this a 4 4 May 2012, 16:52
Control keys are messed up. Everything messed up. I couldn't even move my character in the place.
It was a bad start.
1/5
Scoo Guest 26 October 2013, 18:01

A phenomenal TC. Was a pain to get at the time due to slow 56K modem connection that frequently would hang up when almost completely downloaded... At any rate, a most excellent "blast from the past", it had a good story; fine artwork and to this day good maps that are intelligently done (of course due to Quake's engine limitations) though some map features may feel silly, such as the pseudo "distant landscape" and such.

To think that it's almost 20 years since it was released...

Azradun Registered 9 October 2015, 17:01

Very good work in terms of classes and code. Good work in terms of modelling. Mediocre work in terms of playability. Mediocre work in terms of map design.

Plays significantly different than normal Quake - the level pace is slower. Some very annoying map design decisions - most "normal" doors have a "water curtain" for some reason, most of them are activated in an arcane and confusing fashion (some open normally, some after being shot, some after shooting an element nearby - elements aren't as visible as buttons), making traversing the levels feel like a chore. The levelling is a blast though.

Worth a check. Good story.

JS Guest 26 October 2015, 0:45

Nostalgy factor is out of the roof. I remember playing this with my friend on null-cables and it was quite annoying when the progress was constantly lost, as the connection was very unstable. Year was -97 when we played this :)

NoNameUser Guest 31 May 2016, 14:42

A phenomenal TC? Wow, I thought it was quite unbalanced, with several different classes that share the same level of uselessness regardless of gender, race or whatever. I started with a druid and couldn't even make it past the first enemies. Getting killed by a rottweiler is ridiculous, but hardly surprising when your only weapon is a puny staff that deals equally insignificant damage and inexplicably takes about two seconds to “reload” with each hit. I restarted then and chose a “powerful” outlander armed with an axe, only to face the same problem and get mauled in the same fashion on the very same spot, right at the start of the map.

Controls are definitely not messed up as hkBattousai said; they're completely fucked up. Every time you change classes or quit they revert to some weird default setting in which I couldn't even figure how to walk forward, but the worst part is you have to reconfigure things your way over and over again. Maybe tinkering with the cfg files can fix this, but it's just not worth it. I can't believe this was rated Excellent.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in